Stucco - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Specialty Coatings

Old 03-09-2017, 08:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 884
Thanked 4,496 Times in 2,832 Posts
View cdpainting's Photo Album My Photos
Default Stucco

Not sure if this is the right topic for this but any who.

We have a stucco house we are bidding on, it needs some repairs. I've seen it done in TV so I'm an expert now but figured since TV lies I have to ask a pro.

How does one go about repairing holes drilled by the cable guy. Maybe thumb sized.

Do I mix the paint with the stucco? We will be bidding to repaint as well.

Exterior new england not near water sort of. Wetlands are about 1,000' out back.
cdpainting is online now   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-09-2017, 10:16 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 1,336
View woodcoyote's Photo Album My Photos

Do you know if the stucco is cementitious based or if it's an acrylic type product (aka synthetic)?

You tell the difference by trying to remove a sample. If you can cut the stucco with a razor blade and peel it off with a 5-in-1 or "scrape" it off, almost like paint..it's synthetic.

If it doesn't come off easily and basically like a colored concrete...it's cementitious.

Reason being is you have to treat the 2 differently.

If it's cementitious you have to prime it before you paint or the paint will more than likely fail at some point...or good likely hood.

How big are the holes? Cable sized or are they like a large hole saw type of size? That will also determine how you go about patching them.

You want cementitious patches to go on top of cementitious material. You'd have to apply a bonding primer if you want to put cementitious on top of synthetic.

It might be easier to PM me on this one. It's a long laundry list of if-then-else type of things.