CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-15-2008, 01:22 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
View kingcotrader's Photo Album My Photos
Default any experience with pigmented lacquer?

anybody out there have experience using pigmented lacquer on trim/doors for interior remodels? seems like the best of both worlds theoretically.. smooth finish/fast dry time... wondering how it would hold up/ if its prone to chipping since it dries so hard... does the primer have to be specific to lacquer, or can you go with a good quality alkyd??

kingcotrader is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Old 06-15-2008, 11:07 AM   #2
house painter
 
johnthepainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
View johnthepainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

yes ive usd campbells pigmented laquer, and sh wms opec (sp?)

both were great materials

i used the opec primer surfacer as part of the system, it sanded great, filled in end grain, (great primer/surfacer qualities)

the campbell product is called Magnalac, and i shot about 6 different colors, some deep tones, some pastels,,,,,and it was flawless to work with

i shot them both with a turbine

one thing to watch out for>>>>> if your using the turbine all day, it gets hot, and the hot air will cause the material to dry even quicker,,,,so consider using a retarder when your shooting slabs/built ins

johnthepainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 11:25 AM   #3
house painter
 
johnthepainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
View johnthepainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

dont build them up to much,,,,,theyll gator
johnthepainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 11:30 AM   #4
house painter
 
johnthepainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts
View johnthepainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

imo nitrocellulose laquers arent what i would call a really hard finish,,,and no i havnt had any chipping problems
johnthepainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2008, 03:12 PM   #5
Paint to fish
 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 7,701
Thanks: 772
Thanked 3,743 Times in 2,071 Posts
View DeanV's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I do not spray solid lacquer, but on a major repaint I did that had been sprayed with lacquer previously and all the miters on the door casings where blown out from expansion/contraction and had to be ready patched approximately .5" to either side of the miter cut.

I would not spray a alkyd primer, since lacquer and alkyd are not supposed to be compatible. If you are going to spray lacquer anyway, might as well spray a lacquer primer. The seal and sand really nice.
DeanV is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 12:17 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
View kingcotrader's Photo Album My Photos
Default

hmm, thanks for the info!
kingcotrader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 08:16 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toledo,Oh
Posts: 404
Thanks: 9
Thanked 35 Times in 33 Posts
View Veith@toast.net's Photo Album My Photos
Default

A lot of times I will add to my sanding sealer some of my stain to make it a toner. And yes I am using a stain that is laq based.
__________________
David Enterprises Inc.
Toledo, Ohio
http://www.davidspaintingandwallpapering.com
Veith@toast.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2008, 10:25 PM   #8
Paint to fish
 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 7,701
Thanks: 772
Thanked 3,743 Times in 2,071 Posts
View DeanV's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Using dye stains/spray stains? Acetone I think, is the solvent in the ones I use, and would be compatible with lacquer as well. Easy way to make a toner. I never thought about making one that way, I would have had it rematched if I needed a toner. I could see that working well on a piece that did not look quite right with the first round of staining.

DeanV is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Lacquer paint. Donald Surface Preparation and Application 4 01-08-2010 08:59 AM
Coloured Lacquer? (long) 12inchsash General Painting Discussion 15 05-01-2009 09:40 PM
lacquer colors cayse General Painting Discussion 1 10-31-2008 07:03 PM
Lacquer Interior Railings CobraCDN Surface Preparation and Application 5 09-02-2008 08:18 AM
Who's lacquer to use? Jimmylegs General Painting Discussion 16 03-05-2008 09:11 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.6
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2007-2014 Escalate Media LP. All Rights Reserved
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com