CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Old 10-20-2008, 07:19 PM   #1

View flashme18's Photo Album My Photos
Default restaining a fading deck

I have very little experience with decks. Could use some help.

Pressure treated deck with semi-transparent stain. The middle of the deck where most traffic is has lost the majority of its color.

the other areas of the deck are semi transparent stain but have actual sneaker prints all over the place from the original stain job!

My paint rep told me that I could power wash the deck, which I have next to no experience with. Or, I can scrub the deck with Cabot Problem Solver. Then restain the deck with a darker semi transparent stain than the current color.

The spindles and railing are in good shape.

Will this deck come out uniform in color with a semi transparent stain over areas that are faded next to non faded?

The deck is 10x 15 and has 2 steps to get from the grass to the deck surface. So it is very low to the ground.

Also, the HO wants me to flip one deck board because its got a chunk missing. It probably was the best side of the board to use when the deck was built. So that would give me a full board that is perpendicular to the traffic area unstained as well.

Sorry I dont have any pix. But below is a horrible example with the flipped board and traffic areas missing most stain.

__________________________ /////____________________________
================= misisng stain==================
================= missing stain ==================
================= missing stain ==================

================= missing stain==================
================= missing stain ================== /////
__________________________________________________ _________

Last edited by flashme18; 10-20-2008 at 07:34 PM.. Reason: forgot something
flashme18 is offline   Reply With Quote