Wow. What a bad match - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-08-2016, 11:20 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
journeymanPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver(surrounding area) BC
Posts: 2,860
Rewards Points: 674
Thanks: 3,270
Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,052 Posts
View journeymanPainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default Wow. What a bad match

@PACman. Please tell me what they did wrong.

Wow. What a bad match-uploadfromtaptalk1460128782479.jpgWow. What a bad match-uploadfromtaptalk1460128800717.jpg

I have them about 5 hours to match this, so it's not like they were in a rush or anything
journeymanPainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-08-2016, 12:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Escondido, CA
Posts: 1,360
Rewards Points: 104
Thanks: 333
Thanked 903 Times in 547 Posts
View MikeCalifornia's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I don't think you need Pac's advice. It needs to be darker, duh!! Did they put a small bit on the piece you brought in? It looks like they put the sample under the color eye, shot it, it looked close, then gave it to you. You are ultimately responsible for approving the color match, you are the purchaser of the product and the contractor. So if you are leaving the store without seeing the match, sorry man no leg to stand on.
MikeCalifornia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 12:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North central Ohio
Posts: 7,304
Rewards Points: 1,526
Thanks: 2,988
Thanked 4,194 Times in 2,766 Posts
View PACman's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Looks to me like they did just what MikeCalifornia said. They just shot it, labelled it, shook it, and sold it. I'd take the paint back, with the sample they were supposed to match too and have them fix it. Show them that picture too.

And if that doesn't work tell them they don't want me to have to come out there and teach them how to service their customers!
__________________
"One who dares not offend cannot be honest." Thomas Paine-patriot

"Screw you guys! I'm going home!" Cartmann
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Old 04-08-2016, 01:02 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
CApainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: San Francisco Bay Area, CA
Posts: 11,270
Rewards Points: 772
Thanks: 10,650
Thanked 9,136 Times in 5,061 Posts
View CApainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

It looks like they forgot the burnt umber. I have my little rack of tints to fix these kinds of problems when those stup.....I mean, very busy store cler...representatives fu...I mean, make an error.

Last edited by CApainter; 04-08-2016 at 01:05 PM..
CApainter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to CApainter For This Useful Post:
lilpaintchic (04-08-2016), Paradigmzz (04-08-2016)
Old 04-08-2016, 02:23 PM   #5
Paint to fish

 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 9,074
Rewards Points: 5,352
Thanks: 937
Thanked 5,043 Times in 2,733 Posts
View DeanV's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I just go 10 gallons of cabinetcoat. Told the store it looks too yellow. They said it was good. It's too yellow. It was for first coat on a new construction though. So, it will be fine to get redone for second coat. Second time that has happened with cabinetcoat this year. First time was same batch number too.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
DeanV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 02:39 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North central Ohio
Posts: 7,304
Rewards Points: 1,526
Thanks: 2,988
Thanked 4,194 Times in 2,766 Posts
View PACman's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanV View Post
I just go 10 gallons of cabinetcoat. Told the store it looks too yellow. They said it was good. It's too yellow. It was for first coat on a new construction though. So, it will be fine to get redone for second coat. Second time that has happened with cabinetcoat this year. First time was same batch number too.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Was it tinted or was is just the package white? They could be substituting the pastel base for package white. If they are, tell them to quit.
__________________
"One who dares not offend cannot be honest." Thomas Paine-patriot

"Screw you guys! I'm going home!" Cartmann
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:39 PM   #7
Paint to fish

 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 9,074
Rewards Points: 5,352
Thanks: 937
Thanked 5,043 Times in 2,733 Posts
View DeanV's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Tinted, last time they blamed the small increments as being inconsistent on the machines when very little of one tint is used.
DeanV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North central Ohio
Posts: 7,304
Rewards Points: 1,526
Thanks: 2,988
Thanked 4,194 Times in 2,766 Posts
View PACman's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanV View Post
Tinted, last time they blamed the small increments as being inconsistent on the machines when very little of one tint is used.
are they using a manual tint machine?
__________________
"One who dares not offend cannot be honest." Thomas Paine-patriot

"Screw you guys! I'm going home!" Cartmann
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 04:06 PM   #9
Paint to fish

 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 9,074
Rewards Points: 5,352
Thanks: 937
Thanked 5,043 Times in 2,733 Posts
View DeanV's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PACman View Post
are they using a manual tint machine?
Yes. CabinetCoat uses the old glycol stuff still with the manual tint wheel.
DeanV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 04:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
PACman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: North central Ohio
Posts: 7,304
Rewards Points: 1,526
Thanks: 2,988
Thanked 4,194 Times in 2,766 Posts
View PACman's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeanV View Post
Yes. CabinetCoat uses the old glycol stuff still with the manual tint wheel.
they probably haven't cleaned the nozzle in months. That's what the problem could be. Unless they are trying to tint an increment that doesn't exist on that unit. They are much less accurate then automated tint machines, that's why they should be checking every gallon to a color standard.
__________________
"One who dares not offend cannot be honest." Thomas Paine-patriot

"Screw you guys! I'm going home!" Cartmann
PACman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 05:06 PM   #11
Paint to fish

 
DeanV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: MI
Posts: 9,074
Rewards Points: 5,352
Thanks: 937
Thanked 5,043 Times in 2,733 Posts
View DeanV's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I told them to tint one and check to the gallon I brought in. I had them put a dot on the lid to compare to the original one. Didn't match but I trusted them that I was seeing things.
DeanV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 06:31 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Winnipeg, Manitoba
Posts: 493
Rewards Points: 108
Thanks: 377
Thanked 355 Times in 207 Posts
View Gracobucks's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Even from your first blurring picture I could see the paint was way too light. You need to get into the habit of double checking colour matches before you leave. 75% of the times I get matches done they need to tweak it. I never let them tell me the colour is good if I don't think it is.
Gracobucks is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gracobucks For This Useful Post:
lilpaintchic (04-08-2016), MikeCalifornia (04-08-2016)
Old 04-08-2016, 06:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 389
Rewards Points: 579
Thanks: 1
Thanked 157 Times in 109 Posts
View Phinnster's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Journey
Are u trying to touch up ?
Just wondering by the middle of the wall roll
Or were u just testing the color ?
Phinnster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 07:41 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
TrueColors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 411
Rewards Points: 160
Thanks: 35
Thanked 283 Times in 133 Posts
View TrueColors's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Ummm its Cloverdale, that's what happened!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TrueColors is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to TrueColors For This Useful Post:
journeymanPainter (04-08-2016), northcountrypainter (04-08-2016)
Old 04-08-2016, 07:45 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: saskatchewan
Posts: 77
Rewards Points: 117
Thanks: 225
Thanked 67 Times in 37 Posts
View northcountrypainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TrueColors View Post
Ummm its Cloverdale, that's what happened!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Exactly what I was thinking!
northcountrypainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:41 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: North Dakota
Posts: 101
Rewards Points: 202
Thanks: 20
Thanked 38 Times in 22 Posts
View GrandCitiesPainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by journeymanPainter View Post
@PACman. Please tell me what they did wrong.

Attachment 74138Attachment 74146

I have them about 5 hours to match this, so it's not like they were in a rush or anything
JM, like I said in this thread, Heartfelt THANKS and desperate plea... you will never get new paint to match up with old. Yes, I know your situation is different. However, the color looked close enough that you paid for the paint? Right?

I have seen this many times. The color looks fairly close or it looks exact on both the matched paint sample and the piece of wall that you cut out and brought to the store. But when you break the roller out, it's off, every time.

The only solution is to paint the walls corner to corner. And if that was your intention to begin with, finish the task. Tell the client, you can never get it exact, just close enough. Hope this info helps JM.
GrandCitiesPainter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GrandCitiesPainter For This Useful Post:
ElTacoPaco (04-09-2016)
Old 04-08-2016, 08:53 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
journeymanPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver(surrounding area) BC
Posts: 2,860
Rewards Points: 674
Thanks: 3,270
Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,052 Posts
View journeymanPainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phinnster View Post
Journey
Are u trying to touch up ?
Just wondering by the middle of the wall roll
Or were u just testing the color ?
Prime new mud, spot hit the primer, then paint the wall. Because the match was so incredibly bad I had to do 2 complete coats. I only had 3.5 hours to sand and paint before the store opened.
journeymanPainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 08:56 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
journeymanPainter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Vancouver(surrounding area) BC
Posts: 2,860
Rewards Points: 674
Thanks: 3,270
Thanked 1,640 Times in 1,052 Posts
View journeymanPainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by GrandCitiesPainter View Post
JM, like I said in this thread, Heartfelt THANKS and desperate plea... you will never get new paint to match up with old. Yes, I know your situation is different. However, the color looked close enough that you paid for the paint? Right?

I have seen this many times. The color looks fairly close or it looks exact on both the matched paint sample and the piece of wall that you cut out and brought to the store. But when you break the roller out, it's off, every time.

The only solution is to paint the walls corner to corner. And if that was your intention to begin with, finish the task. Tell the client, you can never get it exact, just close enough. Hope this info helps JM.
My intention wasn't to touch up. That wall probably hasn't been painted in at least 15 years. Even if I used the same can it wouldn't match. That's my spot prime. My intention was to have a good match, which it wasn't.
journeymanPainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 09:55 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Crackshot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 149
Rewards Points: 298
Thanks: 79
Thanked 61 Times in 43 Posts
View Crackshot's Photo Album My Photos
Default

my shop has a big sign saying "please allow 24 hours minimum for color matching".

every time you rush them they will stuff it up.
Crackshot is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Crackshot For This Useful Post:
The Paint Lady (04-09-2016)
Old 04-08-2016, 10:00 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: san antonio
Posts: 159
Rewards Points: 316
Thanks: 70
Thanked 90 Times in 62 Posts
View pacific paint's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Now that I know what you were up against Time and coverage , that was a bad match. Time to have a talk with your paint store, let them know you trusted them to provide you their best effort and to let you know when they are having a hard time with a match to let you know before shipping it out the door. If they just shot it and shipped it that's not what a professional store should do. You can get that at the home centers.
pacific paint is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to pacific paint For This Useful Post:
journeymanPainter (04-09-2016), PACman (04-09-2016)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
water damaged ventian plaster lilpaintchic Decorative Finishes 19 10-29-2015 12:27 PM
Mobile Match from SW ReNt A PaInTeR General Painting Discussion 12 09-25-2015 08:53 AM
Thumbs down to Aura Leeboy20 General Painting Discussion 102 08-10-2015 08:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com