Windows 10 - subscription based? - Page 3 - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Business > Technology (websites, computers, etc..)


Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2015, 10:08 AM   #41
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrakeB View Post
This is true of all OS's, though- and it's least true of Windows out of all of them. For instance, I really have no wish to have Windows Defender trying to tell me what I can and can't do with my own computer, but it's built so deeply into the core of the OS that it can't be fully disabled or removed. Windows does maintenance without telling or asking you, downloads stuff without telling or asking you, and most of this stuff is impossible or extremely hard to stop. With the other OS's, not only do they just not do this kind of stuff, but they also offer easy options to disable features that you dislike without having to do registry hacks and editing device ID's and other insane workarounds. Hell, there's a bunch of programs that Windows won't even let me delete off of the hard drive purely because they're Microsoft programs and people should have those shoved down their throats regardless of whether they want them or not, right?
Interesting perception.

I've always had the feeling that Macs were the least tweakable. Applephiles are simply adamant that the Jobs-way is the best way and doesn't need customization.

I've always found instructions on the net to get Winders to start or stop doing what I wanted.

And sure Linux is the most accessible to tweaks, but unfortunately it's the real geeks who write those tweaks for other hard core geeks. Mint is supposed to be the most "loser" friendly, but even with it, just getting two Mint machines to network is fraught with bugs - unless you have memorized the network IP of all the computers in the house. And don't even try to explain how to get my Linux boxes to connect via wi-fi.

I'm going to de-evolve and pull out my slide-rule, typewriter, and tin cans on a string.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daArch For This Useful Post:
SemiproJohn (08-01-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-01-2015, 01:42 PM   #42
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Central Florida/Mount Dora
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 174
Thanks: 4,660
Thanked 2,272 Times in 1,182 Posts
View SemiproJohn's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daArch View Post
Interesting perception.

I've always had the feeling that Macs were the least tweakable. Applephiles are simply adamant that the Jobs-way is the best way and doesn't need customization.

I've always found instructions on the net to get Winders to start or stop doing what I wanted.

And sure Linux is the most accessible to tweaks, but unfortunately it's the real geeks who write those tweaks for other hard core geeks. Mint is supposed to be the most "loser" friendly, but even with it, just getting two Mint machines to network is fraught with bugs - unless you have memorized the network IP of all the computers in the house. And don't even try to explain how to get my Linux boxes to connect via wi-fi.

I'm going to de-evolve and pull out my slide-rule, typewriter, and tin cans on a string.



What, no abacus?
SemiproJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to SemiproJohn For This Useful Post:
DrakeB (08-03-2015)
Old 08-02-2015, 09:09 AM   #43
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SemiproJohn View Post

What, no abacus?
I never learned how to use one, they were before even MY time.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daArch For This Useful Post:
SemiproJohn (08-03-2015)
 
Old 08-03-2015, 10:56 AM   #44
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daArch View Post
Interesting perception.

I've always had the feeling that Macs were the least tweakable. Applephiles are simply adamant that the Jobs-way is the best way and doesn't need customization.

I've always found instructions on the net to get Winders to start or stop doing what I wanted.

And sure Linux is the most accessible to tweaks, but unfortunately it's the real geeks who write those tweaks for other hard core geeks. Mint is supposed to be the most "loser" friendly, but even with it, just getting two Mint machines to network is fraught with bugs - unless you have memorized the network IP of all the computers in the house. And don't even try to explain how to get my Linux boxes to connect via wi-fi.

I'm going to de-evolve and pull out my slide-rule, typewriter, and tin cans on a string.
Macs are actually quite tweakable, much like Linux- given that they're both Unix systems, this makes sense. It's a matter of know-how, much like Linux, though usually a good deal more accessible. Rarely ever needed to sudo on OS X, have to all the time on Linux.
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2015, 06:26 PM   #45
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

http://imgur.com/gallery/8OJ4t

For the record.

I think the Windows service guy is probably wrong (surprise) but I do think if you change your HD or motherboard you will lose your license to Windows 10 and have to re-purchase. Welcome to Microsoft's idea of "free."
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 08:26 AM   #46
Moderator
 
Wildbill7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,043
Rewards Points: 964
Thanks: 3,510
Thanked 3,948 Times in 2,055 Posts
View Wildbill7145's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I have to wonder what happens if something goes seriously wrong on your PC and you have to reinstall your OS from scratch? Would you then have to purchase a license?
__________________
February has ended. It really wasn't that bad after all.
Wildbill7145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2015, 05:59 PM   #47
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbill7145 View Post
I have to wonder what happens if something goes seriously wrong on your PC and you have to reinstall your OS from scratch? Would you then have to purchase a license?
According to everything I've read, Windows 10 will check a unique key on both your motherboard and your hard drive when you attempt to reinstall Windows 10. If either one of those has changed, you'll be required to purchase a new license. Of course, things are still a bit foggy so this could change, but as it currently stands that seems to be the case. A bit unfortunate since hard drive changes are pretty common; motherboard mostly not so much.
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2015, 09:13 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 186
Rewards Points: 192
Thanks: 117
Thanked 44 Times in 32 Posts
View Gotdibz's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbill7145 View Post
I have to wonder what happens if something goes seriously wrong on your PC and you have to reinstall your OS from scratch? Would you then have to purchase a license?
if you have a FULL RETAIL version of Win10,
Includes transfer rights to another computer.

If you have an OEM or Upgrade, then you might be out of luck.

For those wondering I got my upgrade on 1 of my PCs.
for the other that didn't receive update, I went to Microsoft website downloaded the MediaCreationTool to make an ISO file for my thumb drive. No need to wait on Microsoft, You first have to "upgrade" and then you can do a Clean install if you want. I did not use a key(skip), Microsoft servers will recognize if your computer has a genuine license. Search the web there's a few How to's or just wait your turn.

Link to Microsoft http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/softw...load/windows10

Last edited by Gotdibz; 08-05-2015 at 09:22 AM..
Gotdibz is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Gotdibz For This Useful Post:
daArch (08-05-2015)
Old 08-05-2015, 06:04 PM   #49
Senior Member
 
straight_lines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wilmington, N.C.
Posts: 7,822
Rewards Points: 1,574
Thanks: 5,686
Thanked 5,171 Times in 2,980 Posts
View straight_lines's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to straight_lines
Default

Liking the new os on my surface. Love that it was free.
__________________
JHC Armorcoat


Primer makes everything better...
straight_lines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2015, 11:26 PM   #50
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 558
Thanks: 5
Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
View goga's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbill7145 View Post
I have to wonder what happens if something goes seriously wrong on your PC and you have to reinstall your OS from scratch? Would you then have to purchase a license?
As for myself, I don't get the "newest and greatest must have" when OS is taken into account. Still happily using XP on all my notebooks and PCs, runs like a tank, runs everything I use out there. Tried newer systems, neah, stuck with it till no hardware will support it. But as they say - each has its own.
goga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 06:39 AM   #51
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by goga View Post
As for myself, I don't get the "newest and greatest must have" when OS is taken into account. Still happily using XP on all my notebooks and PCs, runs like a tank, runs everything I use out there. Tried newer systems, neah, stuck with it till no hardware will support it. But as they say - each has its own.
I can really empathize - I tried to stick with XP for as long as possible. But finally gave into to 7 when I need proggies that needed the newer OS.

And just last week the screen on my lappy broke, so there goes my last XP machine

BTW, on this machine - my main work-a-day one, it boots up SOOOOO much faster with 7 than XP. As resistant as I was to 7, with the proper tweaks, it is an improvement over XP.

I'm very reticent to upgrade this to 10. I'll have to try 10 on my recently purchased 8.1 machine.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to daArch For This Useful Post:
SemiproJohn (08-15-2015)
Old 08-15-2015, 01:28 PM   #52
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Earth
Posts: 281
Rewards Points: 558
Thanks: 5
Thanked 63 Times in 53 Posts
View goga's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daArch View Post
I can really empathize - I tried to stick with XP for as long as possible. But finally gave into to 7 when I need proggies that needed the newer OS.

And just last week the screen on my lappy broke, so there goes my last XP machine

BTW, on this machine - my main work-a-day one, it boots up SOOOOO much faster with 7 than XP. As resistant as I was to 7, with the proper tweaks, it is an improvement over XP.

I'm very reticent to upgrade this to 10. I'll have to try 10 on my recently purchased 8.1 machine.
I never shut the PCs down, 24/7, hibernate or stand by, so boot times have never played a key role in my case. Kid using 7, cause newer games. I'm getting IBMs T series from eBay, cheap, nice to work with, tough, run XP)

But yeah, 7 is a nice system when you get used to it.

PS: For me.. I need to do fax service editing and sending which 7 is lacking, so that's the main reason for XP.

Last edited by goga; 08-15-2015 at 01:30 PM..
goga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 02:26 PM   #53
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Central Florida/Mount Dora
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 174
Thanks: 4,660
Thanked 2,272 Times in 1,182 Posts
View SemiproJohn's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Not to derail this Windows 10 thread, but I have to share my annoyance pertaining to "updating" in general.

For the last six years or so, I have been using itunes on my Windows-based computer to play and burn music which is stored on an external drive. I have about 200 gigs of music.

I have had no problems with this method. That is, until I decided in a moment of great faith and stupidity to click on the "itunes version blah blah needs updating. Do you wish to update now?" I ignored this message for over 2 years. Guess what? After clicking to update, I receive a message that itunes was improperly installed, and that I need to re-install it. After 4 attempts (uninstalling, re-installing), and after googling the error message, etc. I gave up. I am now using Windows Media Player (reluctantly).

I don't feel as if we should have to be computer geeks to successfully click on an update prompt. Ok, I'm done with my rant. Back to Windows 10 talk!
SemiproJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 04:29 PM   #54
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SemiproJohn View Post
Not to derail this Windows 10 thread, but I have to share my annoyance pertaining to "updating" in general.

For the last six years or so, I have been using itunes on my Windows-based computer to play and burn music which is stored on an external drive. I have about 200 gigs of music.

I have had no problems with this method. That is, until I decided in a moment of great faith and stupidity to click on the "itunes version blah blah needs updating. Do you wish to update now?" I ignored this message for over 2 years. Guess what? After clicking to update, I receive a message that itunes was improperly installed, and that I need to re-install it. After 4 attempts (uninstalling, re-installing), and after googling the error message, etc. I gave up. I am now using Windows Media Player (reluctantly).

I don't feel as if we should have to be computer geeks to successfully click on an update prompt. Ok, I'm done with my rant. Back to Windows 10 talk!
DON'T TALK TO ME ABOUT F-ING iTUNES.

After HOURS of trying to back grade to 10.6 (Win 8.1), I found the way. If I can relocate the steps, I'll post them.

BUT first try this, right click the install exe file and "Run as administrator", it MAY work.

iTunes 12.x.x just plain SUCKS btw. There is NO way to load a playlist in YOUR play order onto a device.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2015, 04:39 PM   #55
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Central Florida/Mount Dora
Posts: 1,994
Rewards Points: 174
Thanks: 4,660
Thanked 2,272 Times in 1,182 Posts
View SemiproJohn's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daArch View Post
DON'T TALK TO ME ABOUT F-ING iTUNES.

After HOURS of trying to back grade to 10.6 (Win 8.1), I found the way. If I can relocate the steps, I'll post them.

BUT first try this, right click the install exe file and "Run as administrator", it MAY work.

iTunes 12.x.x just plain SUCKS btw. There is NO way to load a playlist in YOUR play order onto a device.
Thanks Bill. I'll give that a try just for the masochistic thrill.
I've been screwing with media player...it works fine as far as burning discs, but I'm still having trouble getting all my music imported into it. I might as well torture myself further and try to re-install itunes again.
SemiproJohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 08:09 AM   #56
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SemiproJohn View Post
Thanks Bill. I'll give that a try just for the masochistic thrill.
I've been screwing with media player...it works fine as far as burning discs, but I'm still having trouble getting all my music imported into it. I might as well torture myself further and try to re-install itunes again.
John,

When I back graded to 10.6 (after STUPIDLY okaying an upgrade ) I was advised to delete ALL apple apps/proggies/etc. NOT only through the control panel, but also through the registry. (obviously DO NOT remove your music,vid, etc files)

Before you do that, if you have any playlists you want to keep, save them somewhere, they are small files (xls ?)

I'll try to find time to find that interweb forum post I found. I think my search parameters was something like "itunes error message ...."[I can't even remember now the message I got, I'll have to look on that computer]

This was over a week ago, so it will take some time.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:05 AM   #57
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

OK, found it.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0

scroll to post by Crusisx on Mar 19, 2014 11:44 AM

he/she says (apparently english is an alternate language)

Quote:
Had this issue, and none of the solutions above worked, here is what I did to fix the issue, Install Itunes like you normally would, admin rights ect. When you get the error message "Itunes errors occurred during installation before itunes could be configured" do not click finish, leave that folder up, no navigate to your appdata directory such as example C:\Users\Your Username\appdata\local\temp, inside there look for a file called iTunes64Setup.log or iTunes32Setup1850.log, open that up and scroll down, look for these key things as in example, "Executing: "C:\windows\system32\msiexec.exe" /i "C:\Users\Crusisxx\AppData\Local\Temp\IXP593.TMP\i Tunes64.msi" INSTALL_SUPPORT_PACKAGES=1" so I would navigate inside the folder in my temp called "IXP593.TMP, there you will find all the installation packages, copy all of those files and paste either on your desktop or a new folder ect, once done you can now click finish on the failed itunes installer, now whether or not where ever you decided to place your files you copied from that temp folder you will want to run Itunes64.msi or Itunes.msi ect, and run the installer, you should now have successfully of installed Itunes.
So let me try to describe better what it means. As he said, do not click finish (if you do, the installation files will be removed from the temp folder)

As said, move to your C:\Users\username\appdata\local\temp dierctory and find the log file for the itunes set up. What I did was viewed the files details and ordered by date modified - brought the log file right to the top. (make sure all hidden files are not hidden).

The next step is to search that log file just to find the iTunes64.msi and related installation files. Since I am running 64 bit, those files were in

C:\Users\username\AppData\Local\Temp\IXP106.TMP

In that folder should be these (or similar) files:
AppleApplicationSupport.msi
AppleMobileDeviceSupport64.msi
AppleSoftwareUpdate.msi
Bonjour64.msi
iTunes64.msi
SetupAdmin.exe

I copied that whole IXP106.TMP folder to my desktop

As instructed, I now hit the "Finish" button on the failed installation. I opened up the folder I just copied to my desktop and clicked "iTunes64.msi" and watched the successful install - pressing prompts as it went smoothly ahead.

If you have a 32 bit system, I am sure you can figure out Crusisx' instructions.

If you don't understand any of this, just do what I did and blunder forward using your good sense.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"

Last edited by daArch; 08-16-2015 at 10:08 AM..
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:10 AM   #58
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

BTW,

I found this AFTER I had removed all apple crap from my computer. I don't know if that step was necessary, but I am glad that I got that extraneous stuff off.
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:15 AM   #59
PinheadsUnite
 
daArch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: almost there
Posts: 30,724
Rewards Points: 1,696
Thanks: 13,929
Thanked 17,334 Times in 10,140 Posts
View daArch's Photo Album My Photos
Default

ALSO there are many alternatives to iTunes. I only torture myself with it because we have too many iToys that may get totally f'ed up if I go to MediaMonkey, which I have on my main box (I'm now on the box we use for music and the WW's stuff)
__________________
"Glazed Donuts Are the Building Blocks of the Universe"

"Are we having fun yet"
daArch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2015, 10:32 AM   #60
Moderator
 
Wildbill7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 4,043
Rewards Points: 964
Thanks: 3,510
Thanked 3,948 Times in 2,055 Posts
View Wildbill7145's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daArch View Post
ALSO there are many alternatives to iTunes.
A short while ago, we got an android box for our home theater system. It has a streaming MP3 app. We've been throwing every single obscure artist, album, song at it we could think of. It hasn't failed to be able to stream anything whatsoever.

Did you know Johnny Cash made a children's album? Fulsom Prison Blues was on it? For some reason kids love that song.
__________________
February has ended. It really wasn't that bad after all.
Wildbill7145 is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Wildbill7145 For This Useful Post:
daArch (08-16-2015)
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Durability of Water Based Polys VS Oil Based RH General Painting Discussion 20 05-02-2015 08:26 PM
Water based putty for oil based stain??? weldnpaint Surface Preparation and Application 0 06-15-2012 03:17 AM
how to receive email response / subscription / notification in thread woi2ld Site Help and Suggestions 3 10-02-2011 05:58 PM
Thread subscription Ranger72 Site Help and Suggestions 10 09-05-2010 09:44 PM
Oil Based or Latex Based DLLN General Painting Discussion 4 04-14-2010 11:01 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com