Windows 10 - subscription based? - Page 7 - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > Technology (websites, computers, etc..)


Like Tree2Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-26-2015, 04:33 AM   #121
very senior member
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hagerstown md
Posts: 8,909
Rewards Points: 196
Thanks: 3,369
Thanked 5,211 Times in 3,169 Posts
View chrisn's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by daArch View Post
Did you ever have the opportunity to use Win 7 ?

Just interested if you had an opinion about the difference between 7 & 8.1.


(I've gotten familiar with 7, not so with 8.1. I'm hoping the migration to 10 is an easy one from 7)
I believe I went from 7 to 8.1, but I could not tell you the difference, except that 8.1 is very stable and I have never had a problem with it. If I recall, 7 was good also



now, that was probably the wrong thing to say
chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to chrisn For This Useful Post:
daArch (08-26-2015)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 08-26-2015, 10:38 AM   #122
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by soperfect paint View Post
It will depends upon the type of subscription you have choose.
Citation?
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2015, 11:54 PM   #123
Spider killer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto/ Ontario
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 738
Thanks: 214
Thanked 243 Times in 134 Posts
View jason123's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Ah man I hate when this happens I had a long drawn out reply and the I hit the back button or something.

I dont need the new update and all this hype and me shivering in my boots about this windows 10. Im happy with what I have now windows 7 and haven't updated since may.

This consumer culture is pissy

I almost grabbed a android box recently . We have a few tvs in the household three people and a limit on our data usage, plus I just got a smart tv and it looks like it can do a lot of stuff, so for now I have passed on a box but intend on getting one in a couple years.
__________________
http://muralform.com/
jason123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 09:49 AM   #124
Moderator
 
Wildbill7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,717
Rewards Points: 314
Thanks: 3,413
Thanked 3,809 Times in 1,954 Posts
View Wildbill7145's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jason123 View Post
Ah man I hate when this happens I had a long drawn out reply and the I hit the back button or something.

I dont need the new update and all this hype and me shivering in my boots about this windows 10. Im happy with what I have now windows 7 and haven't updated since may.

This consumer culture is pissy

I almost grabbed a android box recently . We have a few tvs in the household three people and a limit on our data usage, plus I just got a smart tv and it looks like it can do a lot of stuff, so for now I have passed on a box but intend on getting one in a couple years.
Interesting. I did the update as soon as it was available. I honestly haven't noticed one change whatsoever. I have no idea what they updated other than the version number.

As for android boxes, they're incredible. Ours probably paid for itself in roughly two months. We haven't seen advertising since. We watch what we want to watch, when we want to. We've got data limits as well, but we've never had an issue. My wife has the thing running pretty much all the time for background noise or something else I don't understand. I'm sure I can check how much we're using but haven't bothered.
__________________
February is coming. Please yield to oncoming traffic.
Wildbill7145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 10:01 AM   #125
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbill7145 View Post
Interesting. I did the update as soon as it was available. I honestly haven't noticed one change whatsoever. I have no idea what they updated other than the version number.
That's the insidious part of Microsoft, though. Most people have no idea what they're doing when they update or what they're agreeing to. If you clicked "standard install" then it's likely everyone on your Facebook friends list has access to your wifi. If you have ever given your wifi password to anyone, chances are anyone they're friends with has access to your wifi.

And that's just one background feature that people may or may not be aware of when they upgrade. There's stuff like this with every update. MS slowly but surely infringes on your information, your privacy, your rights. Every update it gets that much worse.

I'm a practical guy, I don't expect everyone to jump off the Microsoft train. It's convenient. But it's a nasty thing to watch.
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 10:29 AM   #126
Moderator
 
Wildbill7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,717
Rewards Points: 314
Thanks: 3,413
Thanked 3,809 Times in 1,954 Posts
View Wildbill7145's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DrakeB View Post
If you clicked "standard install" then it's likely everyone on your Facebook friends list has access to your wifi. If you have ever given your wifi password to anyone, chances are anyone they're friends with has access to your wifi.
Not terribly concerned about this, mostly because I'm somewhat ignorant of the ramifications. My interweb/tech kung fu isn't what it used to be. That being said, if my Facebook friends have access to mine I likely have access to theirs if they did the standard install? How does one go about testing this?

I seem to remember this being mentioned by someone at the time the installation became available. Wasn't/isn't there a workaround to this issue? I can't remember if I did anything about it at the time.
__________________
February is coming. Please yield to oncoming traffic.
Wildbill7145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 11:23 AM   #127
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbill7145 View Post
Not terribly concerned about this, mostly because I'm somewhat ignorant of the ramifications. My interweb/tech kung fu isn't what it used to be. That being said, if my Facebook friends have access to mine I likely have access to theirs if they did the standard install? How does one go about testing this?

I seem to remember this being mentioned by someone at the time the installation became available. Wasn't/isn't there a workaround to this issue? I can't remember if I did anything about it at the time.
Most of this "feature" can be toggled off. I believe we mentioned it earlier in this thread as well. Basically all you have to do to test is go over to anyone's house (or just park your car in their block) with a laptop running Windows 10 or any Windows 10 phone or tablet and click on their internet. You should just connect automatically if the feature is enabled. Depending on the install settings this could also automatically share with your Skype and Outlook contacts as well.

From a non-tech standpoint it sounds like a super convenient way to not have to fuss with passwords and such with your friends.

From a realistic standpoint, this means (especially in a small town) someone can pretend to be a pretty girl or just send out tons of friend requests on Facebook. Build up a big friends list. Then drive around town until they find a network they can connect to. Then, they can commit any kind of cyber crime they want and it will direct police/FBI directly to your home address when it's tracked. There's a bit more to it than that- there's device ID's and such that can be checked, but the short version is that it would be quite easy to abuse this for all kinds of bad deeds. There's also legitimate reason to worry about this 'feature' being hacked and simply giving people your wifi password. This leads to the same kinds of potential shenanigans, with the added benefit that if you use the same pass for that and banking or anything else online they'll have access to that, too.

It's just one more completely unnecessary security vulnerability that never should have made it off the drawing board.
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DrakeB For This Useful Post:
Wildbill7145 (11-03-2015)
Old 11-03-2015, 12:49 PM   #128
Moderator
 
Wildbill7145's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,717
Rewards Points: 314
Thanks: 3,413
Thanked 3,809 Times in 1,954 Posts
View Wildbill7145's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Interesting (not overly so), but someone on here (I think) mentioned that Windows Defender which appears to have replaced MSE doesn't have the capability to do regular scheduled scans. I was just going to run one and it says that it did one itself at midnight last night. Maybe they changed that situation in an update?
__________________
February is coming. Please yield to oncoming traffic.
Wildbill7145 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2015, 12:58 PM   #129
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildbill7145 View Post
Interesting (not overly so), but someone on here (I think) mentioned that Windows Defender which appears to have replaced MSE doesn't have the capability to do regular scheduled scans. I was just going to run one and it says that it did one itself at midnight last night. Maybe they changed that situation in an update?
Windows Defender essentially does do scans, they're just all wrapped up into a maintenance cycle and very user unfriendly. I'd recommend something like Malware Bytes Antimalware for functional, non-bloated security. You can run scans in the free version; if you get the paid version (it's almost always worth while to get paid security for your computer) it will also do active scanning. I wouldn't recommend McAfee, which is pushed on people a lot- it is essentially Malware itself these days. It installs a bunch of extra garbage on your computer and attempts to modify your browsers.
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to DrakeB For This Useful Post:
Wildbill7145 (11-03-2015)
Old 11-06-2015, 07:39 PM   #130
Spider killer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto/ Ontario
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 738
Thanks: 214
Thanked 243 Times in 134 Posts
View jason123's Photo Album My Photos
Default

The WiFi seems completely ludicrous. That means my neighbours can down load off of my WiFi and I'll be billed for it.
__________________
http://muralform.com/
jason123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 10:18 AM   #131
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,373
Rewards Points: 764
Thanks: 4,849
Thanked 1,820 Times in 1,135 Posts
View DrakeB's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jason123 View Post
The WiFi seems completely ludicrous. That means my neighbours can down load off of my WiFi and I'll be billed for it.
Assuming you have them on Facebook or Outlook/Skype and that feature is turned on, yup. And that's just the most benevolent possible use of it, too.
DrakeB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 12:17 AM   #132
Spider killer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto/ Ontario
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 738
Thanks: 214
Thanked 243 Times in 134 Posts
View jason123's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Well here is a link I found about disabling the WiFi sharing apparently you have to do more than turn it off, you also have to add the word _optout to your ssid.

http://www.cnet.com/how-to/how-to-ki...in-windows-10/
__________________
http://muralform.com/
jason123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 03:54 PM   #133
Spider killer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto/ Ontario
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 738
Thanks: 214
Thanked 243 Times in 134 Posts
View jason123's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Had to upgrade my lap top for this huge job I landed. I got a 16 g memory, quad core with true hd 17.3".Im pretty happy like a little school girl right now.
Of course it came with windows 10, so far so good. Actually find it very easy to use. Doesn't feel like a whole new interface just an updated version of windows I'm happy.
__________________
http://muralform.com/
jason123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 04:17 AM   #134
Spider killer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto/ Ontario
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 738
Thanks: 214
Thanked 243 Times in 134 Posts
View jason123's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Actually a few hrs after I left the last message my internet just started dropping off. Restart, drop off instantly again and I was plugged in. Maybe I'll wait on my recommendation just yet.
__________________
http://muralform.com/
jason123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 05:35 PM   #135
Spider killer
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Toronto/ Ontario
Posts: 701
Rewards Points: 738
Thanks: 214
Thanked 243 Times in 134 Posts
View jason123's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Ok I might have to retract this statement, after I got over my assumption and tantrum I followed this step ,

It has worked so far for me.

The disabling automatic updates requires a few more steps but can be done. Im still happy with this. I have disabled the automatic updates and can choose when I want to install them.

If no one continues this thread I will let it rest in peace from here on. Thank you.
__________________
http://muralform.com/
jason123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 10:48 AM   #136
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Colorado
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 30
Thanks: 3
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
View LakewoodPaintingPro's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I've been delaying the upgrade to 10 for about a month now, don't really want to do it but the notifications are driving me crazy. Guess I will eventually give in, lol.
LakewoodPaintingPro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2016, 07:21 PM   #137
very senior member
 
chrisn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Hagerstown md
Posts: 8,909
Rewards Points: 196
Thanks: 3,369
Thanked 5,211 Times in 3,169 Posts
View chrisn's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LakewoodPaintingPro View Post
I've been delaying the upgrade to 10 for about a month now, don't really want to do it but the notifications are driving me crazy. Guess I will eventually give in, lol.
Not me, I am sticking with what works and what I know, so there
chrisn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:44 PM   #138
Junior Member
 
bocaratonpainters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
View bocaratonpainters's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I think you can go back to your old version if you do not like windows 10. I kept my windows 8, will probably regret it later
bocaratonpainters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:46 PM   #139
Junior Member
 
bocaratonpainters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
View bocaratonpainters's Photo Album My Photos
Default

"If you do upgrade within the first year, you get Windows 10 for free, permanently. You donít have to pay anything. Even after itís been a year, your Windows 10 installation will continue working and receiving updates as normal. You wonít have to pay for some sort of Windows 10 subscription or fee to continue using it, and youíll even get any new features Microsft adds."

Found this after a quick google search
bocaratonpainters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2016, 11:47 PM   #140
Junior Member
 
bocaratonpainters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Boca Raton
Posts: 28
Rewards Points: 56
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
View bocaratonpainters's Photo Album My Photos
Default

You cannot update for free anymore though
bocaratonpainters is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Durability of Water Based Polys VS Oil Based RH General Painting Discussion 20 05-02-2015 09:26 PM
Water based putty for oil based stain??? weldnpaint Surface Preparation and Application 0 06-15-2012 04:17 AM
how to receive email response / subscription / notification in thread woi2ld Site Help and Suggestions 3 10-02-2011 06:58 PM
Thread subscription Ranger72 Site Help and Suggestions 10 09-05-2010 10:44 PM
Oil Based or Latex Based DLLN General Painting Discussion 4 04-14-2010 12:01 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com