new beginings - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Business > Business, Marketing, and Sales

Like Tree4Likes
  • 4 Post By woodcoyote

Old 10-09-2016, 09:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
View woodworkerfinisher's Photo Album My Photos
Smile new beginings

I'm a woodworker and I do all of my own finishes and have for years specializing in ornate lacquer and distressing. I'm currently working at a small cabinet shop building and finishing cabinets for little compensation not to mention I do all aspects of the remodels so I feel it's time to go out on my own. I can't afford the start up cost of a cabinet shop so I think my best bet is to start a finishing business. I guess my main question is what is the the start up cost for a painting business and how long does it take to get started?
woodworkerfinisher is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-09-2016, 11:39 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 252
View 007 Dave's Photo Album My Photos

I started out with a 6' step ladder ($50), 8' ft to 16' extension ladder ($80) , a 24' ladder ($160). a tarp ($20), brush($15) ,a roller cage ($7) roller sleeve($5) and roller pole ($15).
You can find used ladders and some tools on craigs list a lot cheaper than I listed. Business license ($150) Vary's from state to state. Insurance $1,500 to$2,000 a year. That will vary as will. Check with an insurance broker Not just one or two will known insurance company's.How long does it take to get started? Depending on how many clients you have. Go to realtors office to start. Once you get going ask your clients to help get your name out. If you are fair. honest and do what you told the clients you would do your business will grow. Hope this helps. Welcome to paint talk
007 Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2016, 04:14 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 594