1st Sprayer Advice & options - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Supplies and Equipment

Like Tree17Likes

Old 06-23-2020, 01:11 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 48
View Radius118's Photo Album My Photos
Default 1st Sprayer Advice & options

Hi!

Newbie here. Thanks for all of the informative posts. Been reading a lot.

Looking at getting my first sprayer. Since I don't have much experience with sprayers I have some questions and am asking for some advice.

Pros/cons of cart versus stand models?

To me, it seems like the cart would be convenient for transporting the unit around, etc. Does the dip tube unscrew to make it easier to swap buckets?

On the other hand the stand model seems like it would be easier to swap buckets. Pull the dip tube, swap to the next bucket and continue. The downside being more difficult to move the machine around.

I am at about $1K budget wise so I am looking at some of the top "pro-sumer" model spray setups like the Graco Pro210ES. I also recognize the machine is just the beginning of the investment. The gun the machine comes with is likely to be a lower end model, plus there are tips to buy, etc.

Also, I have a buddy that is willing to sell me a very lightly used Titan Aircoat air assisted machine at my price point. The only bummer is it has a hopper instead of a suction hose but in my searching it looks like the suction hose kit is available. I have used this machine once before and it was a bit fiddly - occasionally hard to get it primed and even with thinned latex it seemed like you had to run it wide open to get decent coverage. Maybe I was doing something wrong but the diaphram pump in the machine just did not seem powerful enough.

Any advice for the spray newbie?
Radius118 is offline   Reply With Quote