Brush advice (UK contractor) - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Supplies and Equipment

Old 11-13-2011, 06:26 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
View sparex's Photo Album My Photos
Default Brush advice (UK contractor)

Hello guys and gals i am new to the forum and am looking for some advice

i am a UK based contractor only 24 years old been trading for 5 years and have been doing fairly well i consider myself a OK painter i understand the basic knowledge but there is no short cut to experience

i have been using Harris and Hamilton brushes for the past 5 years 2" flats for cutting walls synthetics and black china bristle for oil based but i have come to a decision it time to upgrade not only my brushes but my production i have read a lot of the forum posts regarding this but a lot of them are out of date or not what i am looking for

i see a lot of you guys use 2 1/2" angel sash brushes and 3" wall brushes and i am hoping that with some better brushes more suited to the task in hand i could up my production a lot i often find my self running out of paint on a cut in well before i am out of reach

so down to the question

What size and make of brushes do you use for what and why would i see a great benefit in using Corona or Prudy brushes would i be able to cut in as far as i can reach without running out of paint and is a 3" really practical for cutting in (seems a bit big to me)

also do you guys ever use any thing below a 2 1/2" brush

thanks in advance for any reply s

Darren
sparex is offline   Reply With Quote