Titan 440i losing pressure - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Tools, Equipment & Safety > Tools, Supplies and Equipment

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-16-2014, 09:55 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
View Bradleythepainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default Titan 440i losing pressure

Ok, I just repacked and replaced the transducer. Pump holds pressure and works fine when turned up to the middle of the latex setting but drops pressure when turned down to a lower psi. Dont lose a lot of pressure, just enough to piss me off. Any ideas?
Thanks
Bradleythepainter is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2014, 10:20 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 1,835
Rewards Points: 1,056
Thanks: 339
Thanked 1,006 Times in 639 Posts
View MikeCalifornia's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Sounds like you are lowering it too much? What are you spraying? Paint coatings have a lowest psi that will atomize the material, read the data page. You should have an arrow that shows where 2000 psi is on the machine. You will want to set at that and then go up depending on the coating being sprayed.
MikeCalifornia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 06:27 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 3,745
Rewards Points: 2,042
Thanks: 1,140
Thanked 3,181 Times in 1,677 Posts
View Oden's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradleythepainter
Ok, I just repacked and replaced the transducer. Pump holds pressure and works fine when turned up to the middle of the latex setting but drops pressure when turned down to a lower psi. Dont lose a lot of pressure, just enough to piss me off. Any ideas? Thanks
Stop turning it downs then.
Oden is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-16-2014, 07:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Jmayspaint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: East TN
Posts: 4,253
Rewards Points: 14
Thanks: 1,875
Thanked 3,731 Times in 1,918 Posts
View Jmayspaint's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I wonder if he is talking about how the older little pumps will not hold constant pressure when the pressure is turned down low.. Once you get below a certain point, they kinda pulse up to where they're set at, then drop down, then pulse back up... My 395's do that if they are turned way down.

Nothing to be done about it except buy a newer pump with smart control.
Jmayspaint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 07:31 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
View Bradleythepainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

jmayspaint
I think you hit it right on the money. My pump dosnt have a psi setting, the knob just reads lacquer/enamel on the low end and latex on the high end. It just seemed odd that it does this even with high viscosity paints. Seen this pump has some sort of computer port on it, thought maybe it need to be calibrated after replacing the pressure sensor.
Guess I'll just stop turning it down.lol
Bradleythepainter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-19-2014, 01:33 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
mr.fixit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Braintree, Massachusetts
Posts: 1,372
Rewards Points: 570
Thanks: 49
Thanked 483 Times in 289 Posts
View mr.fixit's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Bradley, the port on the side can be used to calibrate but not to solve the problem you are experiencing. That port can also tell how long the machine has been turned on and how long it has sprayed while turned on if you have the proper tool to do this. If you have your pressure to low you can create the problem you are having. If you want to spray at lower pressure you will have to keep adjusting it until you find the sweet spot that fits your style. As I have said in other posts everyone is a little different in their hand speed, how far from the substrate they hold the gun etc.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mr.fixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about my Titan 440i AquaClean Tools, Supplies and Equipment 9 01-21-2014 04:59 PM
sprayer help Titan 440i johnny949 Tools, Supplies and Equipment 6 04-14-2012 10:37 AM
graco 395 or titan 440I Skip General Painting Discussion 23 01-08-2012 06:41 PM
FS titan 440I like new thepainterr4you Tools, Supplies and Equipment 15 04-12-2009 04:41 PM
Titan 440I jojo11367 Tools, Supplies and Equipment 4 11-15-2008 01:23 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com