Apartment Turnover (repaint) newbie - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Like Tree3Likes
  • 2 Post By lilpaintchic
  • 1 Post By VOC breath

Old 02-16-2018, 10:56 PM   #1

View Logic444's Photo Album My Photos
Default Apartment Turnover (repaint) newbie

Hi my name is Alex and I am new to the contracting world and I started out cleaning homes and then got into commercial properties then landed a contract cleaning luxury resort style apartment communities and was asked by one of the communities if I offered painting and carpet cleaning and if you know me well then you know I answered yes to paint and carpet cleaning... With that said I now offer apartment turnover services whereas we paint each apartment units and clean carpets and clean the units in preparation for a new lease.

My question to the professional painters of this group is how do you handle apartment (repaint) when the pay is so little? They are paying me 18 cent per square ft for same color repaint and 24 cent for color change but it's mostly all same color. Do you only do touch up paint and skip over what looks good? I am making $155 to $250 a unit not including cleaning and carpet cleaning. I am trying to figure out how to pay my painter hourly or by the job? I service all 5 of their properties and each property is from 250 units to 500 units all new construction. I am currently doing 30 units a month between 2 of their properties and will soon be asked to expand into their other 3 properties so I want to make sure I have my pay method and work method on point so I can make sure i turn a profit and look good to the service manager at each property. Thank you in advance