Assisted Reviews, Homestars (update) - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-09-2015, 11:06 AM   #1
Painting Contractor
 
George Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,565
Rewards Points: 1,888
Thanks: 2,901
Thanked 2,423 Times in 1,140 Posts
View George Z's Photo Album My Photos
Default Assisted Reviews, Homestars (update)

I noticed that some Reviews are noted as "Assisted Reviews"
I am not sure how far back they go, or if it's a new policy.
My opinion? If it's an Assisted Review, remove it!
If asking the customer will not produce a review, why write it for them?

How Many Are Assisted Reviews? Many.

A local competitor has over 400 reviews (!).
I counted, from the first 20 reviews, 12 are "Assisted".

Do the assisted reviews affect their rating? Should it?
Is a non paying contractor allowed to use assisted reviews?
I hope so, if not, Homestars better disclose to the Public:
Contractors that Pay Homestars have a higher rating.

An example of an "Assisted Review" from a competitor, (name removed):

---- was the painter who completed our job. The work was excellent. He was very detailed and helpful. He made sure the job was done properly and professionally. I am very satisfied and would highly recommend -----
Seriously?

Question: Would the Contractor write an Assisted Review for an unhappy customer?
"Hello, ABCDE company did a terrible job in my house, they messed up my carpets. I would never hire them again"

Likely not!

From Homestars: "An assisted review is collected by a contractor on behalf of the homeowner after their work is completed. The homeowner must confirm the text of the review and may make any changes she or he deems appropriate. The homeowner then assigns the contractor a review score out of 10. Assisted reviews receive the same scrutiny as other reviews and must follow our...."
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by George Z; 01-09-2015 at 11:36 AM..
George Z is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to George Z For This Useful Post:
Bender (01-09-2015)

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-09-2015, 08:22 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Boston
Posts: 546
Rewards Points: 1,094
Thanks: 128
Thanked 349 Times in 206 Posts
View GR8painter's Photo Album My Photos
Default

That sir...is a scam. No way I'd ever put effort into that. I think that site will slowly go away unless they change their model, that is a serious flaw. Does anyone know how they operate on the contractor side. Do they pay for leads? That in itself is an absolute joke. Would never in a million years.
GR8painter is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to GR8painter For This Useful Post:
George Z (01-10-2015)
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apparently Reviews Sites like Homestars are not trustworthy to some. George Z General Painting Discussion 33 01-19-2015 10:41 AM
air assisted airless billy the kid General Painting Discussion 11 11-01-2013 03:54 PM
Find Us in the Yellow Pages (or Angie's List or HomeStars) George Z Business, Marketing, and Sales 12 06-19-2013 10:40 PM
Homemade Air Assisted? GMack Tools, Supplies and Equipment 19 12-04-2009 02:46 PM
Anyone own a air assisted airless? Msargent Tools, Supplies and Equipment 7 07-25-2009 06:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com