Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

Behr Solid Stain?

6K views 16 replies 14 participants last post by  Rbriggs82 
#1 ·
First I want to thank you all for this site. I have been a painter for the last 8 years in VT/NH and am looking forward to contributing and learning from you all.
I do have a question with your experiences with Behr solid stain. I have a customer who wants me to use it on his exterior. He bought some Behr solid for the carpenters who reconfigured a dormer.
I told him I usually use SW Woodscapes or BM Arborcoat with good results but that I would ask the painttalk forum to see if Behr was going to suffice. I'm sure it will work but I am expecting its longevity would be an issue. Any bad experiences with Behr solid stain?

Thanks in advance

Pete

#6 ·
Make sure to leave the card of your local Ben Moore dealer with your customer. Tell them to give them a call when they are fed up with the stain they bought.

Reactions: NACE
#8 · (Edited)
Used it once in spring of 2012 per customers request.
Project was a new cedar horizontal tongue and groove fence.
I first applied Home Depots "All in 1 wash" per product info.
Behr solid stain was medium tone cedar (orange brown color).
Per customer request only 1 side of the fence was stained.
I was just back at this customers house this past week.....the stain looks as good as the day of application.....which shocked me because of finish to 1 side only...both fully exposed to the sun.
I did take precaution per stain literature...as with other solid stain MFR's.....to not over apply the product and create a film.

I have nothing bad to say about the product. I do very little fence staining, have also used Cabot's and monitored that product of similar color used....both still holding up equally well.....with both followed MFR recommendations to a T(As pertaining to surfaces the customer was paying for me to apply product to anyway), from product prep, to moisture content of the wood etc...

#11 · (Edited)