Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

Deck Stain Help

19K views 35 replies 18 participants last post by  007 Dave 
#1 ·
I want to know what the opinions of the professionals here of what the best deck stains are? I've been having trouble with decks for a couple of years now that I haven't had in the past.

#9 ·
This site is for pros only.
Not a real helpful comment, guy. I have the same question. Ya know, with all the EPA regulations imposed upon us, some real crap has been put out there. Also, nothing has a long-term track record. Consumer Reports and other review websites are all over the board with deck coatings recommendations. Who really knows what to believe? I feel like there is no winning with decks. You do all the prep and application like you should and the product fails too soon. So I'm wanting to hear what everyone else is having good results with. Anything with a long running track record?

#4 ·
I have been painting custom homes since 1986. We started our own company 2012. On decks I've been using Olympia deck wash and pressure washing on low pressure and staining mostly with Cabot semi transparent. Staining the decks when it is shaded when possible. Two cases it has fail within a year. I've switched to S.W. Deckscapes and am having better results so far I havn't been called back on those yet.

#6 ·
Scrub the decking and rinse thoroughly to restore the original wood color. If the stain on your deck is weathered and peeling, the first step in renewing your deck is to remove all the stain. Solid-color stains protect wood decks and look great when new, but even the best eventually flake and wear away.

#10 ·