Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

good compact sprayer

4K views 17 replies 12 participants last post by  MikeCalifornia 
#1 ·
Ok, I'm a novice when it comes to spraying with the exception of the proshot when it first came out.

I want to spray doors, bookshelves, trim, shutters, ect. is there a rig that works on the smaller side that you like?

I want a HVLP for less overspray, but I don't like hearing that they do not run paint through them very efficiently.

What works for you when you spray waterbournes and oil based primers & finish coats?

I have researched:

-fuji Q4
-apollo
-titan capspray
-titan 440

#6 ·
matt19422 said:
Can u spray bookshelves and kitchen cabinets in an occupied setting with proper masking? I dunno, most of my work is residential occupied... That is why I thought an hvlp would cut back on the overspray
You have to mask and paper. I use this new 3m "ionized" plastic. Basically has static kling to it. I did a kitchen with it. Still have to tape it. Set up is way simpler. But I just blocked off the doorway and zip poled the great room off. Shoot at like 800 psi on your sprayer and say 28 pounds of air. Comes out awesome. Truly the finest spray mist I've ever seen

#7 ·
READY TO ROLL said:
What is the difference between a 390 and a 395?
Technically. A little more gpm. On the job. I have seen no difference. 440 impact, 390, 395, 400 advantage. All the same pump. I buy these. Then move up to 1gpm pumps. Anything from a 595/640/695/etc. All a waste of money in my opinion. You can't efficiently run more guns out out of a drum without that 1gpm. So buy the small ones and save or rent the big ones.

#11 ·
I would say 5 stage for HVLP. I have a 3 stage and a broken 5 stage and both need thinning for latex, but the 5 stage much less.