Goodbye- thanks guys - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Old 08-25-2009, 08:54 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 75
View mjkpainting's Photo Album My Photos
Default Goodbye- thanks guys

I wanted to sincerely thank you guys for all the help and advise you have given me over the past few years. Not only have you guided a me in running a small painting company, some of you have privately given me some great advice on my personal life during some of the tougher times in my life. A few times the correspondence was tough primarily due to my fault but in the end- you guys were right on the ball.

I have decided to pack it in for the time being. Maybe I'll do some small jobs from time to time in the future but I sold my van and dissolved the business. For those of you that don't know me I am a teacher that ran a FULL time painting business and grinded it out as hard as I could for the past 8 years in Connecticut. I worked my tail off and painted after I got out of school til 9 or 10 pm and 12 hours on Sat and Sun. I never missed work. I wasn't the regular teacher with the part time painting gig. When people asked me what I did for a living the answer was
"Im a painter" and there wasn't one time that I wasn't proud of it.

I came to the conclusion that (for me) it is extremely difficult (especially when trying to start a family) to run a legitimate (home improvement license, liability ins., van payment, van insurance, taxes, quoting, buying materials, marketing, returning phone calls) business with my schedule.