Hello- I'm a new member - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Like Tree33Likes

Old 02-04-2017, 02:14 PM   #1

View Apaintergirl631's Photo Album My Photos
Default Hello- I'm a new member

Hello I am a new member and would like to take a moment to introduce myself and tell you a little bit about my painting background and my current business.
Please forgive any errors in my typing as I am doing talk to text.
My name is Amanda and I currently own and operate a small business on Long Island called ReLove.
I have been painting on and off for just about 20 years. It makes me feel quite old even saying that
I come from a long line of mail painters on my fathers side of the family. My grandfather, great uncle and my Dad were all NYC Union painters. And my Dad was even head of his union when I was a teenager.
In my 20s I worked for a paint contractor who did commercial work and I was the office manager. But that job is probably what led me to start painting more and more because I would take home the leftover paint and use it on projects in my own home from walls to furniture
So my current business began about three years ago when I moved into my new home and it was much bigger than my last home and I started collecting pieces of furniture from the side of the road to refurbish and transform Something I had done on and off through the years as a single girl living on my own for many years
It was after re-doing a few pieces of furniture for my own home that a friend suggested I might want to try finding pieces that I could redo and sell them
I wasn't sure how it was going to sell them but I started a Facebook page and in the past three years my business has grown unbelievably and I now primarily focus on kitchen cabinet refinishing