new yorkers? - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Old 01-30-2014, 09:42 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 14
View goos3burt's Photo Album My Photos
Default new yorkers?

Hi guys,

Got a question aimed for new yorkers or anyone with knowledge to the subject.

I have been painting for a couple years on and off, worked for a reputable company for about a year until it had a shortage of work and was laid off. Haven't got a certification or anything like that as of yet.

I recently was thinking about starting my own painting business as a solo house painter and as far as my research tells me, you don't need to be licensed or certified in the state of new york to be a residential painter. I plan on working by myself, does anyone have any suggestions or pointers regarding the legalities of going this specific route?

I understand it would help to be licensed and/or certified. What I would really like to know, is it mandatory to be licensed/certified/contractors license in the state of new york to be a residential painter?

Thanks guys

Last edited by goos3burt; 01-30-2014 at 09:48 PM..
goos3burt is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-30-2014, 09:45 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 250
View Epoxy Pro's Photo Album My Photos

I'm not from Ny but I would highly suggest you get Insurance as soon as possible.
Epoxy Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2014, 09:47 PM   #3