Newbie rolling technique question - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Like Tree24Likes

Old 05-08-2019, 06:50 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
View mtm12345's Photo Album My Photos
Default Newbie rolling technique question

I started painting professionally part-time a few years ago. at first I worked with a master painter who was in the Union. he wants me to put as much paint on the wall as possible without runs. This goes for cutting in and rolling. So with a roller you need to load up with as much paint as you can. Then keep things in the same width of the roller just going up and down. He says if you hear that sucking sound you are wasting your time. Another Union painter watched me and said I was doing it just right. He also said if you hear that sucking sound you are wasting your time. Perhaps this is a mantra for the Union? More recently I was working with someone who claims to have trained with a very good paint company. He strongly objects to putting so much paint on the wall. He rolls like I did before I started professionally. Rolling and rolling till the roller is almost dry. And then planning on at least two coats. I am beginning to do some jobs on my own and wonder if there is a right and wrong way. Any suggestions would be appreciated. Thank you
mtm12345 is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-08-2019, 07:17 PM   #2
Kev D.

Rewards Points: 889
View finishesbykevyn's Photo Album My Photos

Quote: