Painting Best Practices? - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Like Tree4Likes
  • 4 Post By CApainter

Old 06-02-2018, 02:42 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 8
View Chris D's Photo Album My Photos
Default Painting Best Practices?

I'm a professional painter been painting for 26 years. Being quote "cut from the old cloth" I"ve come to the conclusion about starting a painting business able to compete against other painting businesses in this day and age would prove more a up hill struggle than it's worth. I'm not going to dismiss my own conscience to make a dollar. Don't get me wrong I like to make money and get a very good wage no doubt about it. For me that's only half the reward the other is the pleasure and appreciation the customer shows when the job is complete and if I did my job correctly the paint job or finish will be durable and hold up for years to come. I would be just fine with some sort of "hold your feet to the fire" painting criteria. Just like the guy I work for tries so desperately to convince me concerning latex paint over oil based paint it bonds if you aggressively sand it first. I frequently return to jobs for an annual touch up and the paint is peeling in sheets off these surfaces. The waterborne "hybrids" isn't what was used for those who are just waiting on the edge of their seats to interject.

I added these photos and with them this description
The first photo was the instructions I was told to do by my employer. The black door photo.
The second photo after the customer said what the F**K . I restriped and restained the door.
Didn't have an issue getting the check as well as schooled this couple with info about what's real and what's BS just maybe it will save them time, money, and disappointment.

Sent from my SM-J327T1 using Tapatalk