Substitute for BM? - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Old 05-04-2010, 06:51 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
View ejalpaint's Photo Album My Photos
Default Substitute for BM?

I've been painting apartments for a real estate company for close to ten years and work for them almost exclusively. Good guys, no complaints. They buy the paint and all this time we've been using Ben Moore (Linen White AG and WS). They always use the same color figuring that it makes repainting (and repairs) easier and I've got to admit it's true. 99 times out of 100 I can go into their apartments, roll out one coat of BM Linen White and I'm done. (If the tenant was a real pig or a heavy smoker it's a different story, but that's rare).

Here's the question. Recently they've been bitching about the price of BM and they want me to recommend something cheaper. Now they're not idiots and they understand the advantages of my using good paint, but their point is they always use the same color so hiding isn't a huge deal. So my question is can you guys recommend a less expensive paint that will do what they want keeping in mind there's no use of custom colors. They won't be happy campers if I have to start charging them for two coats!

BTW, I'm in NYC, so any regional brands won't do the trick. It will probably have to be HD, Lowes or possibly SW unless by some miracle somebody ships out paint that even with shipping costs factored in comes out less than BM. Thanks for the help.
ejalpaint is offline   Reply With Quote