valspar cabinet enamel help - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Old 07-27-2018, 04:28 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 18
View countyoungblood's Photo Album My Photos
Default valspar cabinet enamel help

So, I refinish furniture. Im new to it but doing it as my job. Short version is i bought valspar cabinet enamel to replace my prior paint.. a few gallons of it im about to go try and return. It doesnt say latex anywhere on the can that i saw but its latex..and terrible.

Edit: i should add the dressers were primed with bin shellac

Balls up when sanded and comes off with any quantity of water.. im glad i found this out before selling anything painted in this garbage. I spilled water on the top of a dresser painted in this and went to wipe it.. and the paint came off.. I have 3 dressers painted that i dont know how to save now.. Moving forward though i plan to find cabinet coat and sware off valspar anything forever.

What can i do with these things?

Last edited by countyoungblood; 07-27-2018 at 05:39 PM..
countyoungblood is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-28-2018, 01:28 AM   #2

Rewards Points: 5,006
Thanked 1,897 Times in 1,217 Posts
View lilpaintchic's Photo Album My Photos

I'd probably try a clear coat over the finish at this point....that or strip it. It's a dresser....I like minwax hybrid floor poly. There's a bunch of options out there...pick your flavor.