What paint to include in my jobs? - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > General Painting Discussion

Like Tree45Likes

Old 03-06-2017, 04:06 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 12
View mykey's Photo Album My Photos
Default What paint to include in my jobs?

I am a retired carpenter that started doing paint job contract for family members. At first, I was doing it for fun, but I think I am doing a good job as I am overwhelmed by demands after referrals from previous customers and family members, so I am basically working about 35 hours a week.

I ask my clients to buy the paint themselves, but I have more and more people ask me to include the paint in my jobs.

I did some research and I want to choose a good contractor grade paint, but still let the client buy their paint themselves if they want to.

I love working with Benjamin Moore Regal and Behr Marquee, I like Behr Premium Plus and Ultra, but I am not so fond on Betonel and Sico. I don't want to try every single brand of paint, so here I am asking some advice.

I want a paint that is 0 VOC. I was told to make sure the base is made of Acrylic and that the paint should have high % of solid per volume. Here is the paint I was thinking of using:

Behr pro i300 (0 VOC, 37% solid per volume, the base is VAE, is that acrylic?)
Benhamin Moore Ultra Spec 500 (0 VOC, 42%±2 solid per volume, 100% Poly Acrylic)
Benjamin Moore Eco Spec WB (0 VOC, 37% solid per volume, 100% Acrylic latex)
Sherwin Williams Promar 200 (0 VOC, 42%±2 solid per volume, 100% Vinyl Acrylic)

What contractor grade paint have you used and how do they compare? Any other options easily available in Canada?

Sorry for my poor English as I am French.

Thanks
mykey is offline   Reply With Quote