Java update? - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Business > Technology (websites, computers, etc..)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-01-2013, 11:10 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Delete this account
Posts: 8,761
Rewards Points: 250
Thanks: 4
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
View Epoxy Pro's Photo Album My Photos
Default Java update?

I keep getting this damn pop up saying my java is out of date and to update it now, I did update it but not on the pop up ads (went thru the control panel and clicked on the Java icon then update.) Does any one know if that is a virus? Could I have one? I have Nortons, Advanced System Care, IObit malware fighter and a few other programs and non say I have been hit.
I get the pop up on here it looks different than the other pop up ads i have been getting.
Epoxy Pro is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2013, 03:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
PatsPainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,840
Rewards Points: 2,030
Thanks: 1,785
Thanked 2,924 Times in 1,541 Posts
View PatsPainting's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Not sure what browser you are using but check the add-ons and will tell you if it's outdated or not.

Pat
__________________
Quote:
Have fun with it you clownshoe!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PatsPainting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:17 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Delete this account
Posts: 8,761
Rewards Points: 250
Thanks: 4
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
View Epoxy Pro's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I use Firefox and Chrome, both are saying that, I did check the add-ons both say up to date.
Epoxy Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-02-2013, 08:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Thanks: 32
Thanked 28 Times in 18 Posts
View Midas's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Did you restart the computer. Also what version of windows?
Midas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 09:44 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Delete this account
Posts: 8,761
Rewards Points: 250
Thanks: 4
Thanked 13 Times in 12 Posts
View Epoxy Pro's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Midas View Post
Did you restart the computer. Also what version of windows?
XP pro, it has been rebooted a bunch of times I am about to just boot the damn thing, this pop up is driving me insane. Wait I am already insane so maybe it's making me normal
Epoxy Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 10:25 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
straight_lines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Wilmington, N.C.
Posts: 7,822
Rewards Points: 1,574
Thanks: 5,686
Thanked 5,172 Times in 2,981 Posts
View straight_lines's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Yahoo to straight_lines
Default

Uninstall and then do a fresh install.

Java is such a security risk that if you don't need it then just get rid of it.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



Primer makes everything better...
straight_lines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 11:17 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 94
Rewards Points: 75
Thanks: 32
Thanked 28 Times in 18 Posts
View Midas's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Have to agree, I personally thought it was windows 8 as I had the same problem. Not being familiar with win 8 I did a backup to my last update. Seeing how your having same problem on windows xp makes me want to look more into it. Hope you get it situated
Midas is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Midas For This Useful Post:
Old 07-02-2013, 11:20 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
PatsPainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Long Beach, CA
Posts: 3,840
Rewards Points: 2,030
Thanks: 1,785
Thanked 2,924 Times in 1,541 Posts
View PatsPainting's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Get rid of Norton too - biggest resource hog there is and it never blocks chit anyway.

Pat
__________________
Quote:
Have fun with it you clownshoe!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
PatsPainting is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to PatsPainting For This Useful Post:
ewingpainting.net (07-24-2013), ProWallGuy (07-12-2013)
Old 07-12-2013, 04:55 PM   #9
JET
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 12
Rewards Points: 10
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
View JET's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Yeah, most of the malware programs are junk. The best one I have found is malwarebytes and then follow up with CCleaner.
JET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2013, 03:58 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 10
Rewards Points: 14
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
View MorrisD's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I only use Java for online banking with one single bank and now actually thinking of changing bank just to get rid of that. Such a security risk apparently.
MorrisD is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
True AAA gun on 395 fp update DeanV Tools, Supplies and Equipment 39 05-01-2015 11:39 PM
Penguin update - What do you think? Roof Cleaning Technology (websites, computers, etc..) 28 09-19-2013 09:28 AM
New Google update Midas Business, Marketing, and Sales 4 05-23-2013 06:24 PM
BM Advance Update CApainter General Painting Discussion 27 04-14-2013 01:21 PM
Ike Update Brian Off Topic (Non Trade) 3 09-17-2008 10:53 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com