I am not RRP-certified and did some lead work without knowing about it. - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Lead Paint Discussion

Like Tree5Likes
  • 2 Post By Fman
  • 1 Post By RH
  • 2 Post By CApainter

Old 06-22-2020, 06:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
View misha0520's Photo Album My Photos
Default I am not RRP-certified and did some lead work without knowing about it.

I am a sole proprietor painter, I was hired by a real estate agent to do scraping and painting work for their client in a house that was built in 1905.
When I sent them my invoice for everything that was completed for amount of $6,000 , the real estate agent said that I will be paid soon..
I waited for two month, and then they said they won't pay me anything, because they did lead inspection in their home, and found lead everywhere.
They are blaming me now, saying I didn't do proper protection when I was scraping and sanding, and now they have lead all over their carpet,
and they cannot live there because they have a small baby.
Now they want my insurance pay for cleaning their entire home, and install a new carpet and pay for a lot of other work there too.
Otherwise they said they will report me to EPA and I will end up in fine of $35,000. Also home owners said they are environmental scientists.
I am not RRP-certified, and never heard of it before, and nobody told me that there was a lead in the old paint in that house.
I am looking for any help now.
misha0520 is offline   Reply With Quote