Good day! From Brooklyn, NY - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 03-04-2010, 12:44 PM   #1
Starting out

Rewards Points: 10
View Royal LLC's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via Skype™ to Royal LLC
Talking Good day! From Brooklyn, NY

Hey everyone.

I'm a freelance carpenter and painter. Specializing in residential interior paint projects of small and medium size. Mostly through recommendations and friends. I have possessed a passion for fine woodwork from my father, who is a wood furniture craftsman of highest quality standards. However I cannot say that I have a talent for woodwork, I mostly refer to it as my hobby.

Lately I have realized that I misrepresent myself and am willing to cut my profit to fit someone's expectations and budget. Since my business is based on word of mouth, its somewhat hard to raise prices and change habits (because of expectations). I have a habit of working restlessly to meet deadlines, as well as promising things that are not asked of me.

I began thinking of advertisement tools that might help me move on to a different level of prosperity.

So, in the Google search for answers on how to better my communication skills and professional habits, I was directed here. From a quick look around I see that most of members have enormous amount of experience under their belts. I could not help but notice that most have a website as part of their advertisement toolkit. Possibly along the side with word of mouth, yellow pages and other ads.

Since this forum is so rich with knowledge, expert opinions and good sense of humor... I hope to stick around. Maybe share my experience where I think I can relate and read up on yours.

All the best to all of you fellow craftsmen.

Alex K
Royal LLC is offline   Reply With Quote