Hello from St. Louis - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 03-13-2015, 03:11 PM   #1
Chicken Trainer

Rewards Points: 42
View roygones's Photo Album My Photos
Default Hello from St. Louis

Hey all,

My name is Ryan, and I'm a painter. I've tried working the 12 steps, but I just can't stop.

I've actually been a member here since 2011, and a professional painter since 1997. I spent two seasons painting water towers, then moved to St. Louis and found a great job doing high-end residential work. I knew virtually nothing about quality painting (the industrial work brought nothing but knowledge of how an airless works), but I was fortunate to work with a bunch of old school guys that had several hundred years of experience combined (crew of 20+ guys and one woman who could paint circles around most of them). I worked my way up to the company's lead foreman over 15 years and many layoffs, and last spring I decided to try it on my own.

I miss the super high-end stuff, but you don't start a company and just have people who live in mansions start calling you. I hope to work my way back into that world over the next few years. For now, I'm just learning the ropes of owning and operating a business. In the "so you want to be a painting contractor" section here, I saw the suggestion that you should paint professionally for at least 5 years. I would change that to 10+, in my opinion. I would have failed miserably at this 5 years into painting. Some guys could do it in their mid-20's, but most could not.