Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

Hello from Toronto

2K views 15 replies 4 participants last post by  robladd 
#1 ·
Hi, I'm new to the painting world, so I don't have a whole lot to offer you guys as of yet. I have taken an interest in doing this kind of work. I thought it might be a good idea to join this community and learn and take in as much as I can.

Currently no professional experience, my only experience has been doing various painting jobs around the house, but of course that's not the same thing. But I love it and want to do this work.

What I'm doing right now is trying to get my foot in the door. Contacting various painting contractors and hoping someone is looking for an apprentice like me. Though it seems extremely tough finding someone willing to train.

Jes.

#2 · (Edited)
Hi, I'm new to the painting world, so I don't have a whole lot to offer you guys as of yet. I have taken an interest in doing this kind of work. I thought it might be a good idea to join this community and learn and take in as much as I can.

Currently no professional experience, my only experience has been doing various painting jobs around the house, but of course that's not the same thing. But I love it and want to do this work.

What I'm doing right now is trying to get my foot in the door. Contacting various painting contractors and hoping someone is looking for an apprentice like me. Though it seems extremely tough finding someone willing to train.

Jes.
One thing you could do is join the Painters Union. I did that. I'm also still looking for work though. But they're helpful in that they give you a list of unionized companies, and their representatives will also tell you which companies in the area are busy. You'll also sign a contract for an apprenticeship, and there is also schooling involved which takes place in the same building where the union office is (in Toronto, it would be Toro Rd.).

#3 ·