This is how we roll in Seattle (Estimating) - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 11-05-2009, 03:30 PM   #1
Estimator

Rewards Points: 10
View lut21's Photo Album My Photos
Lightbulb This is how we roll in Seattle (Estimating)

I posted my first message like one month ago, and I was advised to make an intro of myself. But since I still don’t have the habit of check the forum I simply forgot about it.

I am an industrial engineer and was hired as the estimator for PCS 4 months ago. The company has been sticking their brush in the greater Seattle area for about 10 years. Most of their jobs are residential but we have done a few commercial jobs. I was required because the company has the intention to start working larger commercials projects with GC's. Therefore they needed someone to chase those projects, read plans, do some take-off, prepare the estimates and follow-up each case. I sign-up this forum because I want to share my estimating experience and see what other people are doing out there. I first want to tell you our background so you can understand how we've been evolving... I'll try to be brief.

On my first week my boss (owner) showed we where to find the jobs opportunities (Blue Book & Builders Exchange), how to organize the bidding documents, and how to perform the measurements using the blue prints from Adobe. We input the data into an Excel worksheet and we simply measured all SF on walls, ceilings, count the doors and mark miscellaneous items. At the end we had a total amount of SF that we used to calculate our materials requirements and labor. We only used one price for the paint, three different coverage rates (One for each hand, 3 hands most likely), one price for the labor and three different production rates.