I hope I did this right - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 04-26-2012, 10:02 AM   #1
Master Finisher

Rewards Points: 10
View Frankthepainter's Photo Album My Photos
Default I hope I did this right

Hello to all, I am really happy to have stumble on to this forum. I love learning and sharing about the finishing trades. I have been in the buissness of protecting and beautifying substrates since I was 18. I was a mechanic in the Navy but after 4 years of that I was sure of one thing I didnt want to do that anymore when I got out. Lucky for me most enlisted men learn two other jobs in the Navy. Cleaning and Painting be cause if you cant clean it you paint it. I served on a Mine Sweeper(John Wayne bought on for his personal yacht) and fell in love with this old wooden ship because the finished wood work on the mess deck. I love to get lost in the pursuit of trying to make a finish job perfect. I have never in my mind accomplished that goal but I have learned that if the client say they love what you done dont point out the things that only I can see. No matter if it painting, hanging rolled goods/vynl, green wood finishing or refinishing/perserving existing finishes. My journey start with buy a roller and a pan. I started by painting apartment turns. I knew i didn't know much and I learn somewhere Paint reps from Ici,sw,and Hirsh feilds help me alot. I know that the starting point to learnig is admiting you dont know. I tryed picking the brains of other painters when they were in the stores not very sucsefully. so i ran an ad in the paper for retired or semi retired painters. I told I would pay top dollar and do the work if they would share their knowldge. I some times only made 3 to 4 dollar for my efforts and know profit but I looked at it as paying tution, and then shortly there after I