New guy feedback and thanks - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By Pan

Old 04-21-2019, 04:11 PM   #1
Pan

Rewards Points: 2
View Pan's Photo Album My Photos
Default New guy feedback and thanks

Gentlemen and Ladies:
First, I want to say thank you to all of you who take the time to add your knowledge and experience to PaintTalk discussions. You represent an enormous pool of knowledge of a deceptively complex subject. Paint... sorry, COATINGS, and their successful application involves chemistry, physics, some math, and lots of head-scratching perserverance (which used to be called the "scientific method" before our public ed system got dumb). I'm not a painter by trade, but needed to learn how to put a professional finish on new cabinets, and months of reading PaintTalk threads got me off to a great start. I know PaintTalk is for those "in the business" but wanted to thank you and pass on what I've learned, and will return to the woodwork after this post.

My wife has been a custom kitchen and bath cabinet designer for over 20 years, and I've built houses and done woodworking for years. We'll soon retire and build a home and she agreed to let me build the cabinets if I could put as close to a factory finish on them as possible given that I won't be using a catalyzed resin or have an oven. I dove into PaintTalk and after a couple months of research purchased a Fuji Q5 Platinum and the 3M PPS. We had two nice pieces of furniture made of notty pine, stained and shellaced, good integrity but 38 years old. Large pieces, one with 13 drawers the other with 8 drawers and a huge mirror over the drawer base. The wife wanted them painted, she has seen them for all of those 38 years and wanted a new look.