New guy in town! - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 08-16-2013, 11:05 AM   #1
Brushmaster

Rewards Points: 147
View Huntercoatings's Photo Album My Photos
Default New guy in town!

Hi everyone, I'm new to paint talk. I'm what you would call a paint nerd. Paint and painting is my passion! It's pretty damn pathetic that I've got paint on my mind all the time. I live Utah where the mormon's rome. I'm a very picky painter who's not satisfied easily, just ask any of my paint reps! I've peen painting for the last 10 years as well as professional caulking. I currently do mostly repaint/ remodel work, mostly a cut and roll kind of guy. I can't seem to find the right paint supplier, thay used to exsist in my area until sherwin and ppg bought them out. So bassicly i can go only two ways, both around here have good service and treat me well. The problem is the people I usually paint for(mormons) have congiac tast on a natural light budget. Also they usually want a very shiney paint on everything, like semi or even gloss on walls. We all know how perfect a wall has to be to paint it with a semi, let alone a gloss. Many painter's in this area use kwal paint now owned by sherwin, most use a line of interior enamel called builders select stipple enamel. Don't let the name fool you it sounds like a builder grade paint, but its their premium paint in my opinion. This paint is specifially formulated and sold in utah, It's a high build paint for walls but when sprayed it looks a smooth as glass. The problem is this paint lines sheen's run super high the eggshell is as shiney as high sheen satin/ low semi, the satin looks like a shiney semi and so on. This is what many people want, this shiney satin on walls and the semi"gloss" on trim. I do think this is a very good paint product, however it is almost im