New Here! - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Like Tree10Likes
  • 1 Post By CApainter
  • 4 Post By lilpaintchic
  • 1 Post By PNW Painter
  • 1 Post By CApainter
  • 1 Post By RH
  • 1 Post By SemiproJohn
  • 1 Post By SemiproJohn

Old 06-22-2017, 06:30 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
View Chuck.RSHome's Photo Album My Photos
Default New Here!

So as the title says, I am new here. I am also new to the field of painting as an employer and job seeker. I have been in the construction industry since I was 13ish years old, I'm coming up on 28 now and the depth of my experience comes from working with my father for his business. The majority of my experience comes from construction work, with a specialty in exterior siding windows and doors.

A few years ago my father expanded our company into the realm of painting and the amount of work that we have been getting only continues to rise, which is an excellent problem to have. However as we have continued through this venture, we are certainly noticing a great amount of growing pains in association with our paint work. Exterior jobs seem to be no problem, we have found a decent rhythm and provided that the Florida weather doesn't get in our way, we seem to be meeting our expected deadlines.

However I seem to be consistently encountering problems with meeting deadlines on interior work. My guys never seem to be able to get a project done in a suitable amount of time and I've had many jobs run over to the point in which I am actually paying out more money (including materials) than I am getting paid to do the job.