New Painter - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 01-06-2014, 09:55 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
View JNW-Painting's Photo Album My Photos
Default New Painter

Hello all! I am from Pittsburgh and recently started my own painting business. I need some advice about how to price jobs in the area. I have about 5 years painting experience this was from painting rental property for my father and homes that I have lived in. I also have painted friends homes but it's not consistent experience. I have been practicing a lot and researching everything that I can. I quoted a job just today. the home owner wanted four rooms painted and after taking all the numbers down I came up with 4000 square foot of surface space walls and ceilings. Now he is under the impression that his condo is 2800 square foot and that my quote of 4000 square foot is outrageous! I explained to him that living space footage is different than surface square footage. It's this true because all my numbers are coming up right. Do painters price by living space square footage or surface space?

Anyway how would you guys price this. Trim, doors, walls, ceilings.
JNW-Painting is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-06-2014, 09:59 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,486
Thanked 6,705 Times in 4,460 Posts
View Workaholic's Photo Album My Photos