New Painter Here From CIncinnati - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 08-31-2015, 05:21 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 4
View Lefthanded Painter's Photo Album My Photos
Default New Painter Here From CIncinnati

Hey everyone here at paint talk. I am a 38 year old male from Cincinnati Ohio. I have over 20 years experience off and on in the painting industry. I am currently running my own company with my brother as the only other employee. He also has several years experience. Our dad owned his own painting company since the 70's, and always told my brother and I to "step up, and take over" the business management aspect of the company. So that when his time came, we could take over the company and keep it going as the family trade/tradition etc. However, us being young and stubborn, didn't listen, and unfortunately, at a young age of 50, my father passed away in March 2002. Needless to say, without any prior business management experience, we lost not only our father, but the company he had worked his entire life to build as well. We searched throughout the entire world of employment for something more, but never finding any comfort in what we did. We had worked for other painting companies as well, and nothing ever fit like it did when we worked with, and for, our dad. Then, early 2014, I met a gentleman who had a company that did strictly apartment painting, and he put me to work. Since I had finally matured mentally, I realized that this was, in fact, the occupation that I belonged in. It's what I know how to do better than anything else, and it's what I do best, period. While I was there, I came across another gentleman that owns 6, soon to be 7, apartment communities of his own, and he loved the work I produced and asked if I would come to work for him as a subcontractor, or an employee on