New to the Painting Business - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 03-07-2010, 05:59 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10
View newpaintguy's Photo Album My Photos
Default New to the Painting Business

Hello from Central Florida. I am new to the painting business but not new to owning a business. I have been so happy to find so much about the industry in this forum. There is so much info here I couldnt ask for anything more to help with starting my business.

I was helping a couple guys do some residential repainting and they are excellent at everything they do and painting is something that was available by default and by no means their first choice. I developed a formula based on the work we have done in the past and starting bidding some commercial jobs and landed a few. Fortunately i have to say that we were competitive in our bids with other companies and definately not the lowest bid. I do not believe in undercutting to get business. We must compete at current market rates with other successfull paint companies or we will not stay in business long.

They get their work 100% by referral and only have the capacity to work one job at a time. The post by PressurePro that speaks about Alan and John and provideds a comparison of the way they do business, completely describes my to compadres in the painting business. They operate so much like Alan that I thought PressurePro might even know my guys.

Having big dreams and an eye for opportunity (and the need for more income) I could not help myself in stepping to the front and provide some business sense and forward thinking and make a go of the painting business. $15/hr would never feed my family and I understand that profits are way better than wages.