New to the site with question - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 05-20-2016, 02:38 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 2
View Rjw5780's Photo Album My Photos
Thumbs up New to the site with question

I've been following this site for a couple of years now and only just recently felt the need the sign up as I have a few topics I'm interested in discussing. A little background:
I am a former union painter in Monmouth County NJ (local #694). I stayed busy for the better part of 8 years, after completing my 3 year apprenticeship, until ever having to go to the hall and sign the book. Things got slow enough around 2007 that I decided to change my career and started working as an electrician for a nation wide railroad, working out of Newark, NJ. I completed their 3 year training program, got qualified, and its a decent wage that is all year steady so no complaints. That being said, I've also never really stopped painting on the side.

The last 2 years I've been taking my painting business a little more seriously and have started taking on bigger jobs. I also started advertising (a little), marketing, handing out business cards, and created a website.

So yes, I'm new to actually running my own painting contracting business but I am not new to painting by any means. My question is, I've been receiving an insane amount of calls and spammy emails since I started advertising. That's expected and I ignore 99% of them. But recently I received a call from Sherwin Williams in my town. The store manager said he found me online and "thinks he has some good opportunities for me, and some jobs lined up I could prob win bids on"...