SE Michigan Painter new member - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 12-30-2010, 12:39 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 20
View Nigel's Photo Album My Photos
Default SE Michigan Painter new member

Hello Paint Talk,

29 yrsold, I've been painting for 10 years...mostly in retail stores for other contractors. Kinda of slam bam painter upbringing with Circut City being our main account. We did allot of other buliding maintence/construction as well. They went outta buisness and things got real slow. Been laid off for a couple years now.

I started painting homes by myself and have been learning alot. Work isn't steady but I'm charging a good amount and my limited clients have been very pleased. (even though I always wasn't)

I'm pretty much self taught on alot of stuff... I've been using alot of stuff from Home depot and just havn't been geting the results I want. I'm pretty tidy and am pretty good with a brush. Co- workers (roller guys) always liked the way I cut in. I just feel like I need to know more about quality paints and products. When and when not to use them.

I did a room with deep red/burgundy this week..and it came out kinda funky lookin. Even after 2 coats. It was Behr paintprimer in one. And I used the purple tinted primer underneath...HO were happy and I've done other rooms for them. He always likes to buy the paint. So while I'm working he's runnin back and forth from paint store. I'm sure he thinks I'll mark up the price on em...(whatever)

So I would like to have a better knowledge of what nap to use and what cieling paints hide the best and how to paint a room red and have it pefrect looking cover wise. As a nuetral color would look. Things like that are whats holding me back from the quality looking finishes I'm looking for.