Where do I even begin... - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Painting Forum > New Member Introductions

Old 03-10-2009, 09:28 AM   #1

Rewards Points: 258
View onthecoast's Photo Album My Photos
Send a message via AIM to onthecoast
Default Where do I even begin...

Since the beginning of my life my father has been a painter. It's carried the families weight since the beginning. Whether is be working for another contractor or for himself, I could always assume that he offered a decent service for a good price, Or else he would have never survived.

Since 15 years of age I have been on job sites, helping out with smaller tasks like scraping and clean up at the finale of the project. By the time I reached 17 I had graduated to actually assisting in the painting process and continued on for several years.

When I graduated high school I had a decision to make like so many others. College or work? I chose to try out college. A month in I quit and decided to get a job doing something I enjoy. Yes, I got in touch with another painting contractor.

During this time period I started noticing something different about my father. It seemed as though he just didn't care anymore. First he dropped his insurance. I noticed that 9/10 jobs where he would collect a deposit the job would never get completed and he'd run. He would get the deposit and spend it on bills and food, Then completely screw over the homeowner by doing a terrible job and getting fired, or just by showing up on his schedule or not showing up at all.

Watching my father do a 180 has taught me a major lesson and instilled these values that I'll never let go. Commitment to myself, Commitment to my customers, Commitment to the quality and Commitment to the industry.