Customer Reviews/Testimonials - Page 2 - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Business > Business, Marketing, and Sales

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-04-2011, 09:18 AM   #21
RCP
Senior Member
 
RCP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southwestern Utah
Posts: 12,314
Rewards Points: 78
Thanks: 4,400
Thanked 4,804 Times in 3,011 Posts
View RCP's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I wouldn't worry about it now, tit is still pretty new. I would make sure that the testimonials and/or links to them are on your website and that your Google Places page is updated, have you added photos and info to it?
__________________
Chris

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RCP is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2011, 09:32 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
dubinpainting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: South Shore Massachusetts
Posts: 591
Rewards Points: 500
Thanks: 150
Thanked 119 Times in 77 Posts
View dubinpainting's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Yea, my place page is updated photos, and youtube vidieo, services, and area's I serve.......Heres the link http://maps.google.com/maps/place?rl...64540851551816
If you see anything I missed please let me know.
Thnx
dubinpainting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2011, 10:14 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
y.painting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,886
Rewards Points: 1,000
Thanks: 349
Thanked 1,136 Times in 611 Posts
View y.painting's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dubinpainting View Post
I have a couple reviews on MerchantCircle and Kudzu would those be considered major sites they would pull from? I'm not to good with HTML code or anything like that......
Yes - those are what I'm talking about. The rarely pull anything from MC, but do so from kudzy and other places like citysearch.
y.painting is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-04-2011, 10:20 PM   #24
RCP
Senior Member
 
RCP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Southwestern Utah
Posts: 12,314
Rewards Points: 78
Thanks: 4,400
Thanked 4,804 Times in 3,011 Posts
View RCP's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by y.painting View Post
Yes - those are what I'm talking about. The rarely pull anything from MC, but do so from kudzy and other places like citysearch.
Aren't you supposed to be looking at Vegas Showgirls about now?!
__________________
Chris

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
RCP is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to RCP For This Useful Post:
y.painting (02-23-2011)
Old 02-23-2011, 11:35 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
y.painting's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,886
Rewards Points: 1,000
Thanks: 349
Thanked 1,136 Times in 611 Posts
View y.painting's Photo Album My Photos
Default

Thought I'd follow up on this after reading an excellent review on this topic (ie Place Pages pulling reviews from actual business' websites) from Mike Blumenthals (a very prominent guy in local seo/place page optimization).

The cliffnotes: Most of the reviews that were pulled into place pages automatically from actual business websites were from Hotel websites. There are very, very few examples of non-hotel place pages where reviews were pulled in automatically from that business' website into that business' Place Page. Despite the fact, it would still behoove us all to have a dedicated "reviews/testimonials" page on our websites both for customers on our sites and in case Google does decide to start pulling in reviews automatically from there into our Place Pages.

Quote:
I am presenting the data in two groups of results, hotels and SMBs, as I think that Google is handling the two cases differently.

Google is broadly including positive content from hotel websites as reviews on their Places Page. Using the newly updated Local Search Tool Kit, I examined the results for the 7 Pack for hotels in Buffalo, New Orleans and New York. Over 40% of the hotelís Places Pages contained testimonials from their own websites as reviews. However most of the results were not true testimonials but rather positive marketing language that Google had scraped and included. The one exception is the Embassy Suites Chicago Downtown (shown to me by Steven King of SimPartners). Interestingly the reviews shown for them on their Places Page are TripAdvisor reviews presented on their website via the TA review widget.

My conclusion: Google trusts large hotel websites and it appears that a large number of them now contribute their own content to the Places Review area. Google however is still having trouble parsing them for appropriate review content.
Quote:
It is much, much harder to find examples of SMB testimonial pages that Google has included in Places Pages. I would take that as a signal of the lower trust that Google has in this market compared to hotels as well as poorer optimization.

That being said, the content showing on the Places page was much more accurate with most of the examples actually including testimonials. The exception below is LA Fitness that, like many of the hotels above, is not actually showing review content. In the case of Crest Wood Painting while Google shows their testimonials as reviews, they are nothing more than his Google and Yahoo reviews repurposed onto the review page on his site.
Quote:
Will Google include your testimonial page in Places? At this point, we just donít know how many or whose they will include. So donít build the page solely for that reason. I have a client site (Barbara Oliver Jewelry) that has long had testimonials on it. She essentially includes every comment that comes to her offline. In the fall, we implemented hReview on the page and it has yet to be picked up by Google.

If you are a hotel then it behooves you to provide Google will legitimate reviews via a page on your site. Although having marketing happy talk show as reviews on your Places Page is not so bad, it would seem to me preferable to have real testimonials and reviews there. If I were a hotel I might even think about showing independently generated reviews on the site.

It appears from the SMB samples to make sense to name the page Reviews or Testimonials to give Google the as man clues possible in finding your page.

I assume that Google judges the page on its trust, content and its prominence. If you are going to build a testimonial page be sure to pass it some strength via your site architecture.
__________________
Yaro S.
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
y.painting is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to y.painting For This Useful Post:
RCP (02-23-2011)
Old 02-23-2011, 09:46 PM   #26
Master Painter
 
Bobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 362
Rewards Points: 250
Thanks: 35
Thanked 72 Times in 52 Posts
View Bobbo's Photo Album My Photos
Default

I encourage my clients to submit a testimonial at the end of every job I do . I tend to establish very good relationships with my customers , So I tend to get a high rate of comments submitted . I post them word for word from the customer along with job pictures .

Old Bridge New Jersey painter testimonials for Valenti & Sons Painting 08857
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bobbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
customer reviews, testimonials

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google Local Now Allowing Owners to Respond to Reviews y.painting Technology (websites, computers, etc..) 0 08-04-2010 01:09 PM
Milwaukee finish sprayer> Reviews?? ecopainter Tools, Supplies and Equipment 3 07-18-2010 12:55 PM
Fake Google Reviews? LA Painter General Painting Discussion 28 07-07-2010 07:53 PM
customer testimonials nEighter Business, Marketing, and Sales 16 11-14-2009 07:48 PM
Brush Reviews Dulles81 Tools, Supplies and Equipment 29 08-19-2008 06:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.6.1
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Our Pro Sites Network
ContractorTalk.com | DrywallTalk.com | ElectricianTalk.com | HVACSite.com | PlumbingZone.com | RoofingTalk.com