How to Fix lacquer failure? - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Surface Preparation and Application

Like Tree11Likes
  • 2 Post By Lightningboy65
  • 5 Post By PACman
  • 1 Post By PACman
  • 1 Post By Sn0man
  • 1 Post By Woodco
  • 1 Post By Alchemy Redux

Old 07-02-2019, 12:58 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 1,838
View Mr Smith's Photo Album My Photos
Default How to Fix lacquer failure?

I just looked a job where the lacquer coating is peeling on the interior part of most of the windows.

I'm guessing that the vinyl lacquer sealer has failed but I'm not really a lacquer expert. The window frames are all perfect as are all the baseboards, etc. Most of the peeling is the part near the glass but on a few windows the window sill is cracking.

How would you repair these? Priming and respraying all of them in an occupied house is a major undertaking.

What bonding primer works with lacquer? I don't want to apply vinyl sealer because it failed.

I was thinking about putting the lacquer in rattle cans for touch-ups. Obviously brushing would be easier for the windows with mullions and small glass panels. I can't imagine taping all of them...lol
Attached Thumbnails
How to Fix lacquer failure?-carmyn-prefontaine-2019-06-24-008.jpg  

How to Fix lacquer failure?-carmyn-prefontaine-2019-06-24-012.jpg  

How to Fix lacquer failure?-carmyn-prefontaine-2019-06-24-009.jpg  

Mr Smith is online now   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement