HVLP finish quality using Graco 9.5 on cabinets - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Surface Preparation and Application

Like Tree4Likes

Old 02-03-2018, 10:48 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 22
View edinburgh1971's Photo Album My Photos
Default HVLP finish quality using Graco 9.5 on cabinets

Need some expertise here... I have been refinishing cabinets for close to 2 years now with promising results, but as with any craft, I've tried to learn something new from each kitchen job to improve my process. I recently invested in a Graco 9.5 Pro Contractor HVLP unit (fantastic rig by the way), and have been using it to spray the cabinet boxes/frames inside the home (I still use my Graco airless with a 310 FFLP tip to spray the doors offsite). Here is my question...I thoroughly clean/degrease all surfaces, then sand with 220 grit paper, then vacuum/tack cloth, and spray with 2 coats of SW Acrylic Alkyd primer, then a light hand sand, then spray 2 coats of SW Pro Classic Acrylic Alkyd (hybrid) paint. The finish generally turns out looking glassy and smooth, but when I return 1-2 days later to mount the doors, the finish on the frames is SO prone to easily chipping/scratching, and it kills me to use a tiny brush to spot repair an otherwise smooth finish panel! I do thin the primer and paint to a 35-40 second viscosity (Ford #4 cup) and use the #3 cap/needle on the Graco 9.5. I know the finish hardens as it cures over several weeks, but am I doing something glaringly wrong here? I avoid solvent/oil-based finishes inside customer's homes (and because it's a pain to clean/discard the waste). Am I spraying too light of coats? Should I be using a different primer? Am I thinning the primer too much and should be using a larger tip? I tried the #5 needle before, but wasn't a fan of the texture/orange peel. Any feedback is really ap