masonite metal doors-big prob. - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Surface Preparation and Application

Old 04-15-2011, 07:35 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 500
View sagebrush123's Photo Album My Photos
Default masonite metal doors-big prob.

ok. really I have been painting since 1990. I am having some major learning curve. I DO NOT get to make every choice on this NC job.

I was brought two doors from a separate job to work on at this exsiting job. I was told they were pre-primed metal clad. I called SW to inquire into what to use...I was told I could use either DTM or All Surface Enamel. I did not want to use oil and I wanted to spray them at the shop.........

there was not time to take them from their 2nd location to a third location further away to spray. It is color of Bitter -chocolate which is Ultra deep base....I know I am in for atleast 3.---

I did not do further investigation on these doors and proceeded with the DTM( I would have gone the direction of All surface enamel)

Now I spent the day stripping them as it did not adhere at all....and the stipple is way terrible. I have used a tight-weenie nap to roll an exterior door and lay it off tightly so it lays nicely and has a minor stipple.

These doors are being used for a pool house bathroom....not that that changes anything but it is not like a fron door or interior doors.

I did not do enough homework. I still get paid. It was not ultimately my call- but I am pissed, humilitated and shocked with this blunder.

I have stripped the six panel smooth surface but have to go back and do the inserts and then I will power wash the stripper off.....

My answer is simple---it is always best to use a primer REGARDLESS in most circumstances.......don't think a factory finish means diddle.