Need Guidance on finishing exterior door - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Surface Preparation and Application

Like Tree1Likes
  • 1 Post By PRC

Old 06-14-2016, 08:40 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 6
View diymark's Photo Album My Photos
Default Need Guidance on finishing exterior door

Hello Group
I'm new to the group...searching for some help here. I'm a finish carpenter and furniture maker and I've been working on a new quarter sawn white oak front door for my own house. I've spent way too much time making it perfect to botch up the finish step (for those that care...hand laminated stave core, floating tennons, half lapped mullions). I don't do a lot of exterior finishing but I did do a refinish of an exterior door 10-12 years ago and used Sikkens. It still looks pretty good today.

So went to a specialty paint store today that carries Sikkens products and a patron overheard my conversation (clearly a veteran by the looks of his truck). He jumped in and said the Sikkens product today is a far cry from what I used 10 years ago. He steered me towards the Canadian Sansin products, specifically Ardera.

Any thoughts or knowledge on this product? Ideally I'm looking for something that is durable but also brings out the rays of the oak. Lots of info finishing interior oak, but not too much for exterior. I often invite clients to my house to see my work and I'm hoping the front door translates that message.

Secondary challenge is I live in southern california where the regs have put the finish manufactures at a disadvantage (low VOC). Door is north facing and doesn't receive too much sun or rain.
Thanks for the help.
diymark is offline   Reply With Quote