ID cabinet coating - Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum
CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY, IT'S FREE!
Go Back   Paint Talk - Professional Painting Contractors Forum > Professional Painters > Interior Wood Finishing

Like Tree6Likes

Old 01-20-2020, 04:27 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 82
View fromthenorthwest's Photo Album My Photos
Default ID cabinet coating

I'm still pretty new to the cabinet world. Anyone have an idea about this finish? It's in pretty bad shape, it looks like it has a film almost like a polyurethane. I'd like to use Stix for bonding but I keep having fish eye problems spraying that stuff , although I may back brush the primer due to the oak grains so its not out of the question. Otherwise i would probably go with smart Prime, as I've had good luck with that for a cabinet primer, plus it would cover any issues with tannin bleed as there is a bit of peeling/ exposed oak substrate. I know shellac is probably the best bet for tannins and adhesion, but I get nervous about spraying shellac in someone's house, still haven't used enough of it. As usual, thanks again to the Paint Talk community for any advice! Let's see if I can remember how to put a picture on here
fromthenorthwest is offline   Reply With Quote

Warning: The topics covered on this site include activities in which there exists the potential for serious injury or death. PaintTalk.com DOES NOT guarantee the accuracy or completeness of any information contained on this site. Always use proper safety precaution and reference reliable outside sources before attempting any construction or remodeling task!

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-20-2020, 04:33 PM   #2

Well shoot I can't seem to figure out how to add a picture with my phone, so I'll have to do that tonight when I get home
Old 01-20-2020, 05:25 PM   #3

Rewards Points: 2,112
View cocomonkeynuts's Photo Album My Photos