Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

In the interests of full disclosure, I will state clearly that I do not paint for a living year round. I am a full time graduate student and run a small, simple housepainting business during the summer that typically takes 2-4 jobs and employs 2-4 people for a couple months. I take care to avoid lowballing the excellent local professionals in my area and I do not solicit work. I am fortunate enough to have enough work come to me that I can make a fair wage. I have tremendous respect for professionals like you all who make such a difficult job look so easy and support your families through hard work and a dedication to excellence. Any help you can offer me would be greatly appreciated.

That said, I have agreed to paint 50 TRUE DIVIDED LIGHT windows that were custom made and glazed by a local millwork shop. They are for a restoration on a c.1792 home recently gutted by fire. The finish is as follows:

1 Coat - BM Alkyd Primer
DAP Dynaflex 230 Elastomeric caulk (for staple holes etc.)
2 Coats - BM Moorgard/Moorlife Acrylic
1 Coat - Hide Glue (interior only, for crackle faux finish)
1 Coat - BM Regal Flat Finish (interior only, for crackle faux finish)

It takes me about 20 min to brush an unmasked 2 pane, 3050 storm window on both sides. I am obviously concerned about the time to brush finish the 15 pane vents on both sides. Any thoughts about the best way to mask or accelerate the painting process? I am being paid by the hour, but I would really like to save the H/O some dough after they lost everything to fire. I have the windows prior to install and am painting in a heated garage (and yes, I have a great respirator and use a hefty vent when applying oils.).