Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have just started to take on side jobs, I currently am working for a guy as a painter. I have 3 years experience but only working 40 hrs with little pay. So I decided to start some side jobs.

Here is my questions. ( please no haters, trolls, I have tried to search these answers.

1. I do not have a registered business, or business bank account. Do you think the contractor will have a problem writing me a check to my personal name?

2. After give him my estimate, shouldn't I have a contract agreement before we begin the project if chosen?

3. Do you take money upfront or all at the end.

I do plan on getting everything set up, just happen so fast I get many people calling me to do some jobs.

Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,324 Posts
I would set up a bank account today its not that hard to do a dba account. Next thing I would do is get some insurance in place and check into to the city/state liscenses.

If your still working for the other guy and doing stuff on the side you can do contracts but they will most likely be small jobs. I personally do not do contracts on small jobs I know many will frown on that but I just do a written out estimate/scope of work and have them sign it.

You can ask for money up front but I can not imagine side jobs being big enough to need a draw. If they are than sure but if its just painting walls in a room on Saturday collect at the end of the job.

If your employer currently supplies you with tools buy a set that you only use for side jobs. That is what I did when I started doing side gigs on weekends. I did not want to ruin my bosses tools on side jobs. I just think that is the best way to do things.

I also let my boss know I was doing it. He was fine with it and actually encouraged the side work. That is a choice you will have to make on your own if you let him know or not.

·
Registered
7,822 Posts