Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
We finished painting/staining this wooden home today. It is a good example of the type of work we handle a lot in summer (ie., Cedar Siding and Trim).

I under-estimated a bit, the amount of time it would take to complete. Almost every part of the exterior was painted or stained (wooden storms, doors, siding, trim, deck, screen porch...), and the siding was quite dry from previous owner neglect.

IMG_1353.jpeg

IMG_1384.jpeg

IMG_0999.jpeg

Attachments

·
Premium Member
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I think it turned out alright :)

As a painter, I would fork over the money for vinyl or aluminum before ever doing something like this.
It was a challenging house, no doubt, but has the kind of charm you can only get in a wooden house. The new owners appreciate what they have, and understand the maintenance concerns. Nice that not everyone is going to vinyl and cement board.

·
Premium Member
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 · (Edited)
Fab job btw
Thanks! It was a “re-paint”. The color was already red, with a few modifications.

It was weathered, and faded, and the dry wood soaked up a lot of stain (thirsty). A lot of cutting-in required for almost everything.

Here’s a few “before” pictures that may give a better idea what was needed. Cedar typically needs to be re-stained every 7-10 years for optimal protection of siding (to prevent cupping and warping of the cedar siding).

·
Premium Member
1,688 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
looks awesome, what sort of prep did you do to the wood siding
Pressure wash and mildew treatment (bleach/jomax/water them rinse with clean water) - allow to dry for 2 weeks.

Then mostly just caulking of gaps and cracks. Solid Latex Stain is easy in regards to prep work, does not require much except a clean surface.

·
Super Moderator
Licensed General Contractor, Painting Contractor
2,267 Posts