Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
8,761 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just talked to one of Carly's friends, her dad was with her (not Carly's). We were talking about power washing. He said a Sherwin and BM rep told him never to power wash his home. Power washing forces water behind the siding and that is what causes houses to rot. :blink::eek:

Damn and all these years we power washed I'm just learning now to just skip that important step.

I didn't ask for any names of the reps. I'm pretty positive it's a HO that read this online and is now an expert.

·
Retired Moderator
10,539 Posts
If I had the choice I wouldn't pressure wash a house either. I think it can do more damage than good if you get slightly complacent. I soft wash would be better. Just like on a car. Scrub the dirt, grime, and air pollution of the house.
We made the switch to soft scrub (truck brushes) years ago. It's something clients often ask about...based on previous experience.

Reactions: CliffK

·
Super Moderator
6,354 Posts
Maybe the guy was talking about vinyl siding? I worked for a guy once doing interior while he pressure washed his vinyl sided building in spite of me telling him he shouldn't.

When water started pouring down from a ceiling the next day, I got more work out of the deal.:)

·
Registered
1,577 Posts
I'd argue that not washing is one of the leading causes of paint failure. Based only on my experience. I can't count how many peelers I've encountered that has dirty, contaminated siding underneath the layers of paint that are peeling.

Done competently, pressure washing is harmless. Done poorly, and it can cause great damage.

BTW, I use my pressure washer to downstream soap, and rinse at a relatively low pressure.

·
Registered
11,338 Posts