Professional Painting Contractors Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Dear Professionals,

Have you ever tried using Aluminium Wood Primer on Aluminium? Been wondering how's the performance?

Or is there any multi-surface primer to recommend? As I have wood and aluminium to work with. But requires faster solutions for bigger production volume.

I'm in Thailand now. Available brands consists of TOA, Dulux, Nippon, Berger, Jotun.

Regards,
ttay31

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I can't regard myself as a contractor. But I'm an engineer finding solutions for the company.

·
Registered
1,148 Posts
Any 100% acrylic primer, or finish coat will adhere to aluminum. Is the surface an anodized aluminum or baked aluminum, or just an aluminum siding? If the surface is tight and slick, then abrading with a green 3M pad is in order to provide a surface profile. Generally aluminum siding requires only a clean, dry and dull surface with no abrading. Not sure about those brands, however I am sure they make a primer designed for aluminum. You may have to go with a DTM Acrylic if you have a commercial exterior application for exterior or interior.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Thanks Nace for replying.

Yes. It is an anodized aluminium. In fact, my purpose is to lessen the process of painting as painting really occupy large part of the production time. And also to achieve a easier and simple process for the workers to understand and follow.

The wood I'm working on is a Wood Composite and I knew that the aluminium wood primer works fine. Therefore, I thinking whether the Aluminium Wood Primer works Aluminium too since it does mentioned "Aluminium". If from the professionals' experience, it works with acceptable performance. Then I'm quite assure to use it.

Just wondering the things out of the box. Otherwise, the vendors' recommended instructions will consist of many steps and paints.

·
Registered
5 Posts